Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Blocking IP address

    This is a discussion on Blocking IP address within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, Quick question. I have a Sagam router, and 4 PCs on the network, all with static IP address. I ...

    1. #1
      malc-c's Avatar
      malc-c is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Stevenage
      Posts
      148
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Blocking IP address

      Hi,

      Quick question. I have a Sagam router, and 4 PCs on the network, all with static IP address. I want to block one machine (my sons) from accessing the net (been a naughty boy). Can someone give me directions as where and what I need to do
      Cheers


      Malcolm
      www.micro-heli.co.uk



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      kipper's Avatar
      kipper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: Blocking IP address

      go into your parental controls, ( via control panel ) you should be able to control any thing from there.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Blocking IP address

      Do you have Parental Controls on the Sagem, I know the V1s don't.

      I think the only way you can block a PC on the router is to set it in the Firewall rules as Blocked both in and out for any service, using it's IP Address

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      malc-c's Avatar
      malc-c is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Stevenage
      Posts
      148
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Blocking IP address

      Kipper - I really want to do this remotely. My old D-Link simply allowed you to enter an internal IP address and tick a check box if you want to block it from having net access.

      To be honest, why do manufactures make the interface so technical when a product is aimed at the home user. These things are deffo not user friendly
      Cheers


      Malcolm
      www.micro-heli.co.uk


    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Blocking IP address

      Does your son need access to other devices on the LAN? If not then just pull his ethernet cable from the router - or if wireless, change the security key and don't let him have it.

      The router controls are intentionally more sophisticated e.g. allowing you to block certain types of traffic, certain times of day, certain sites etc.

    7. #6
      malc-c's Avatar
      malc-c is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Stevenage
      Posts
      148
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Blocking IP address

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Does your son need access to other devices on the LAN? If not then just pull his ethernet cable from the router - or if wireless, change the security key and don't let him have it.

      The router controls are intentionally more sophisticated e.g. allowing you to block certain types of traffic, certain times of day, certain sites etc.
      Thanks for the comments. Yes I know I can pull the cable, but that would then mean he can't play music or video over the LAN. And I hear what you are saying about the need for sophisication, but then why not make the interface simpler to use when aimed at the home market. We use a SonicWall at work and that interface seems more straight forward to configure !
      Cheers


      Malcolm
      www.micro-heli.co.uk


    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Blocking IP address

      I thought that might be too easy

      I don't have the Sagem so can't offer precise instructions but I'd guess if you went into the firewall section you'd be able to stop all traffic to a specific IP. In the Netgear all you need to do is select all traffic (ANY(All)), block always, and then the IP. Click apply and it's done - 20 seconds at most. That's assuming the IP is fixed or reserved.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Blocking IP address

      all you need to do is select all traffic (ANY(All)), block always
      Would that not also block the LAN? Would 'http(TCP.80)' block the internet and leave the LAN open?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Blocking IP address

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Would that not also block the LAN?
      Doh! Yes, course it would - I keep forgetting he wants them to still have access to the LAN.


      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Would 'http(TCP.80)' block the internet and leave the LAN open?
      Well, it would stop some web traffic but not all (there's 8080; 110; 443; etc) and would be easily bypassed if the sons were at all net literate.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION