Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    help needed please

    This is a discussion on help needed please within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; up until a month ago i was happily connecting on sky max at maximum speeds, a few weeks ago myself ...

    1. #1
      bigwicker's Avatar
      bigwicker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hailsham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      help needed please

      up until a month ago i was happily connecting on sky max at maximum speeds, a few weeks ago myself and 4 other neighbours started recieving a poor service, line dropouts, dns errors and very low connection speeds. I phoned technical support where they decided they would drop my speed to :

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.0 db 19.5 db
      Noise Margin 12.6 db 13.0 db

      I'm not very happy about this as they did this to my friend who lives a maximum of 10 meters across the road from me and is still having dropped lines constantly. it happens at least 10-15 times a day .
      I'm really wanting to know what options i have about getting this sorted back to how the service was and if the line speeds are right for what is showing. Samknows says i am 880m away from the exchnage but Sky are saying i am over 2KM away.
      Any help or suggestions would be greatlt appreciated. Is anyone else on the hailsham exchange ?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      diverse180's Avatar
      diverse180 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Location
      London
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: help needed please

      I don't know why, but Sky do tend to over exaggerate the distance to the exchanges.

      A good way to clarify the actual distance is to find the address/postcode of your exchange and then use AA Route planner, Google Maps or even Google Earth and then type in the number/postcode of your home and also your exchange and you can find the actual distance (in miles or km).

      I did this myself just to prove to Sky that my exchange was within 2km when they kept telling me my exchange was over 3km away! (according to all 3 sites, I was less than 2km from my exchange...which I knew already!).

      Obviously lines from exchanges aren't usually direct lines, ie a straight line to your house, but it's good to know the actual distance just so you can tell them to stop over exaggerating.

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: help needed please

      Quote Originally Posted by bigwicker View Post
      Samknows says i am 880m away from the exchnage but Sky are saying i am over 2KM away.
      Samknows estimates your line is 880m long. That's just based on the physical distance to the exchange using a map. Whilst it can often be reasonably accurate, in many cases the actual line length may be much longer as not all lines take a very direct route to the exchange. Even two people in the same street can have very different actual line lengths if they are connected to different street cabinets.

      Sky also estimate your line length but I believe they use BT systems which measure the line attenuation which is far more accurate than an "as the crow flies" or road distance. I think they can still then get a very conservative figure as the result but that's a different issue. Look at your attenuation in your router stats. If your line was indeed only 880m your attenuation would be ~12db. If it is 2km as Sky say then it would be ~28db. Looks like Sky are correct to me.

      With regard to your and your neighbours issues, it sounds very much like you share a line problem or are possibly all conected to the same faulty card in the exchange. Sky capping you is a stupid response and all too typical. You need to get back to them and see if you can persuade them to get BT involved to sort the problem out. If you have any sort of phone problem (noise, buzzing etc in calls) then it will be somewhat easier.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: help needed please

      you've also been through DLM as your upstream is at 800kbps...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: help needed please

      Have you checked your line from the Test socket using a quiet line test. If you have noise on your line BT should fix it, which will in turn, will improve your broadband.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION