Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 15 of 15

    Broadband Not Connecting at Maximum Speeds

    This is a discussion on Broadband Not Connecting at Maximum Speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Forgot to mention, if you do call BT , DONT MENTIOON BROADBAND AND ITS SPEEDS. Only mention voice calls being ...

    1. #11
      HSNetwork's Avatar
      HSNetwork is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLRF
      Broadband ISP: Max going to O2 Pro
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      506
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      6

      Re: Broadband Not Connecting at Maximum Speeds

      Forgot to mention, if you do call BT, DONT MENTIOON BROADBAND AND ITS SPEEDS. Only mention voice calls being faulty. Else they will refuse to test it and potentially not fix your problem (if it is voice).
      Regards,

      Tom (HSNetwork)

      A Word of advice :-
      "Dont ever p*** of your Network/System/Server Admin. Any responsible IT Admin will know more about you than you know about yourself, just ask those that have wronged me.


      How to set up Wireless on your Ipod Touch / IPhone (PDF including pictures)
      How to set up Sky Emails on your Ipod Touch / Iphone (PDF including pictures)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband Not Connecting at Maximum Speeds

      If the fuzzy noise is present at the Test socket it is either your phone or the external line, if it is not, then your internal wiring is faulty. If it is present at the Test socket, try another phone. Make sure you use corded phones to be sure it is not some other type of interference. Remember if you call out BT and the fault is in your internal wiring you will be charged. Either way, as Tom says, don't mention broadband when you call.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      Rza's Avatar
      Rza
      Rza is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Not Connecting at Maximum Speeds

      and if the fuzzy noise is fixed, does that also mean my internet will be back to normal?

    5. #14
      HSNetwork's Avatar
      HSNetwork is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLRF
      Broadband ISP: Max going to O2 Pro
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      506
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      6

      Re: Broadband Not Connecting at Maximum Speeds

      Depends on what you mean by fixed, on what the problem was, on how it was fixed etc.

      For example, when my line broke the main cable under the ground had broken. This meant no-one on the street could make a call etc and broadband was online but just by a thread.

      When they fixed it they welded it as apposed to replacing the 50 Mtr cable. This meant that the quality of the broadband would never be the same, and this was noticeable when I noticed that my speeds had dropped from 5.5mb down to 3mb (this is on normal ADSL and not LLU). So I had lost 2.5Mb, which I never got back. Now im on LLU im at 6mb, but if the line would not have got damaged to begin with I would imagine I could have had around 9mb...
      Regards,

      Tom (HSNetwork)

      A Word of advice :-
      "Dont ever p*** of your Network/System/Server Admin. Any responsible IT Admin will know more about you than you know about yourself, just ask those that have wronged me.


      How to set up Wireless on your Ipod Touch / IPhone (PDF including pictures)
      How to set up Sky Emails on your Ipod Touch / Iphone (PDF including pictures)

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Broadband Not Connecting at Maximum Speeds

      As yours seems to be a long standing problem going back to Tiscali days, if the line is properly fixed you may find that your broadband is better than ever. As Tom says, this depends on what the fault is and how they fix it. Unfortunately, the phone company are only obliged to fix faults to the voice line, which may or may not fix the broadband, although in most cases it does.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION