Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Is this Sky BB a load of rubbish or am I doing something wrong

    This is a discussion on Is this Sky BB a load of rubbish or am I doing something wrong within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Have recently had sky broadband installed for my father in law, who has a new wireless laptop. After getting over ...

    1. #1
      haroldford's Avatar
      haroldford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01322
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is this Sky BB a load of rubbish or am I doing something wrong

      Have recently had sky broadband installed for my father in law, who has a new wireless laptop. After getting over the initial problems of setting up his old email accounts in Windows Mail, he has attempted to actually use it.

      The problems at the moment are that the internet connection keeps disappearing for periods of 1 - 2 minutes at a time. He mostly wants to just send emails but keeps getting messages saying there was a problem connecting to the server, The connection just seems to come a go for no reason.

      I am not positive but I am sure it wasn't like this when the Comet engineer first set up the wireless connection for us. Something seems to have happened since. During the period that we were trying to set up the email accounts, sky Helpline suggested using system restore to reset the computer to its original settings. This we did but it also removed any setting the Comet engineer made. When it was restored it immediately felt sluggish.
      Personally, I have a wired connection to AOL and I don't get periods on no connection.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Is this Sky BB a load of rubbish or am I doing something wrong

      first things first, is normal web surfing okay.... is it just the email server thats the problem.

      Try a wired connection just to prove/disprove any wireless probems

      Post the routers full detailed stats (if you tell us what router yout F-in-law has and we can tell you how to get them).

    4. #3
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this Sky BB a load of rubbish or am I doing something wrong

      can you hear hisses and crackles on the line?

      if so you have a line fault

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Is this Sky BB a load of rubbish or am I doing something wrong

      If you have wireless on your AOL connection, try it on yours. This could rule out the laptop being configured wrongly. Can he connect without problems by ethernet cable?

      If you could post the OS he is using, we could advise you how to set it up. If you have used System Restore which I think was a stupid (fob you off) thing to suggest, all the settings made will have been removed. It will have to be reconfigured.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this Sky BB a load of rubbish or am I doing something wrong

      is it on the right channel maybe?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION