Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Can't connect to the Interent

    This is a discussion on Can't connect to the Interent within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; When i turn on my PC my PC finds mulitple networks (2 networks) and the only time i can fix ...

    1. #1
      cooliocool2's Avatar
      cooliocool2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cwmbran
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Cwmbran
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can't connect to the Interent

      When i turn on my PC my PC finds mulitple networks (2 networks) and the only time i can fix it is when i disable the LAN and reenable.

      i use Vista OS

      so any suggestions on which might help me

      thanks in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can't connect to the Interent

      Do you mean wireless networks or are you connecting by ethernet? If it is the latter, go to the Network and Sharing Centre and opposite Network in the right pane, click 'Customize'. Check that you are set for a Private network and click 'Merge or delete network locations'. Highlight the extra network location and click the Delete button at the bottom.

      If it is wireless connections, open the wireless configuration, choose your network and make it Preferred.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      cooliocool2's Avatar
      cooliocool2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cwmbran
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Cwmbran
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't connect to the Interent

      sorry it was through ethernet.

      But the Problem still continues i get a unidentified network

      i made the connection private

      went on merge it only had one network named "network" clicked on it it was Unmanaged and the status said "in use" and the merge and delete buttons at the bottom could not be clicked due to they wer grey.

      any other suggestions.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can't connect to the Interent

      I am afraid this is a new one on me. The only way I can see it happening is if you have an ethernet LAN and Wireless LAN connected at the same time. Do you have wireless on your PC? Where do you see the 2 networks?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      cooliocool2's Avatar
      cooliocool2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cwmbran
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Cwmbran
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't connect to the Interent

      no wireless cards or wireless usb stick on desktop pc.

      its in the network and sharing window the only time i can connect is wen i disable the LAN and reenable it then unidentified network disappears.

      reckon reinstallin the whole thing mite solve this?

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can't connect to the Interent

      It is a bit of an outside chance, but in the Network and Sharing, under Network, click View Status. In the next pane click Properties and when these open, untick the entry for Internet Protocol V6 (TCP/IPv6). At the moment this is not required and can cause problems.

      If this does not work, click Start and type dev and hit enter when the icon appears. In the Device Manager, expand the Network Adapters entry and right click and uninstall everything there. Right click My computer and select 'Scan for hardware changes' and Vista will reinstall the adapter. You should also check on the adapters site for the latest drivers, if these are newer than the OS ones, update the installed drivers.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      cooliocool2's Avatar
      cooliocool2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cwmbran
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Cwmbran
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't connect to the Interent

      thanks il try this out now.

      il check for updates first

    9. #8
      cooliocool2's Avatar
      cooliocool2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cwmbran
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Cwmbran
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't connect to the Interent

      before i decide to uninstall my nvidia network controller i right clicked My computer and i cant find Scan for hardware changes

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION