Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Help!

    This is a discussion on Help! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Can anyone tell me where I am going wrong? My connection worked fine until I downloaded and tried to use ...

    1. #1
      Chris's Avatar
      Chris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help!

      Can anyone tell me where I am going wrong?

      My connection worked fine until I downloaded and tried to use Firefox. It then worked for a little while, but now (on my ethernet connected desktop) I It just says Server not found. Email wont connect either. I configured outlook Express accoding to the instructions on here....it worked fine, but stopped working at the same time as the browser.

      Strange thing....my wireless connection from my laptop is working fine.

      Any clues as to what is going on???

      Thanks for any thoughts.

      Chris


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      vishal's Avatar
      vishal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton Road (LWKROA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      NW London
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      i dont think firefox is related to your problems, maybe just coincidence.

      may sound silly but have you restarted your pc yet?

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      In my experience reboots fix all sorts of problems.

      Try rebooting your computer. If still no go turn off your router and your computer then power up your router followed by the computer.

      HTH

    5. #4
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      for some bizare reason make sure the lan connection is enabled in network connections, if it is try right click disable, reset bband router, wait till it boots up again. then in network right click enable, give it a few mins and fingers and toes crossed.

    6. #5
      herescuckoo's Avatar
      herescuckoo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I had problems with connections - kept dropping and telling me no server found

      I found that the auto-detect network settings was not ticked in Firefox Internet options - not sure if the Sky software had changed my original settings or what but ticked the box and now everything Hunky Dory!

    7. #6
      Ralph's Avatar
      Ralph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWNEDG
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV: 2x Sky+HD 1tb
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      HA8 8R?, Edgware
      Posts
      127
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      WinsockFix.exe

      There is a VERY powerful utility called WinsockFix.exe that will clean up your TCP/IP connection and rebuild the database. After the program is complete, reboot and your problems should be resolved.

      It is simple to use, quick & brilliant.

      I have not provided a link because
      I take NO responsibility, use it at your own risk - create a restore point 1st, but it can back up your registry for you as well.

      It is widely available & works for Windows 9x/NT/2000/XP.

      If you still have connection problems after this, your problem is not your windows configuration.
      LWNEDG
      Unlimited

     

     

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION