Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    unblock 25

    This is a discussion on unblock 25 within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I'm trying to unblock port 25. Im doing it the same way as I unblocked port 80 and thats ...

    1. #1
      TheCase's Avatar
      TheCase is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      unblock 25

      Hi,

      I'm trying to unblock port 25. Im doing it the same way as I unblocked port 80 and thats fine. The email server is not working then when I do a port checker it says port 25 is closed so thats why but port 80 is open why wont it work, have sky blocked port 25?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: unblock 25

      What are you trying to do? Port 25 is a standard port used for SMTP so it would not make sense for it to be blocked at all.

    4. #3
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: unblock 25

      Is it maybe firewall issues?
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    5. #4
      TheCase's Avatar
      TheCase is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: unblock 25

      I have no firewall have a look at this, maybe it helps



      Thanks

    6. #5
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: unblock 25

      I am not totally clued up on this type of stuff but have you got port 25 on the outbound rather than inbound allow?
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: unblock 25

      Maybe if you answered Paul's question, you would get some help. Are you trying to run an email server as opposed to just sending and receiving email?

      Unless you are really clued up, opening port 80 is not very wise. It is used by many trojans as a door into your router. Have a look at Shields up

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      TheCase's Avatar
      TheCase is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: unblock 25

      I tried adding it to outbound as well still blocked. I have a Web Server thats why I opened port 80, maybe I should change to a more secure port. Im trying to get PHP to send mail it sends by SMTP from my SMTP server wich needs port 25 to send mail

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION