Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Vista - WPA - PSK Issues

    This is a discussion on Vista - WPA - PSK Issues within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Good evening guys, Basically the last month or so we have not any encryption on our network though we arent ...

    1. #1
      Chevans's Avatar
      Chevans is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Vista - WPA - PSK Issues

      Good evening guys,

      Basically the last month or so we have not any encryption on our network though we arent protected every machine in the house connects fine. Over the weekend the router was reset and reverted back to its orginal settings which set the network authentication to WPA - PSK, this was fine for my XP professional machine.

      However i go to connect the vista machine and it does not give the encryption option for WPA - PSK, just WPA - Personal, WPA - Personal 2 etc. I tried to connect through WPA Personal with TKIP as the data encryption and it will not connect.

      I am really stuck and sky technical support were not very helpful. Please could anyone tell me how to connect a vista machine with some sort of encryption on it!

      Thank you very much

      Charlie


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Vista - WPA - PSK Issues

      Hi,

      I recently bought an Acer laptop and had trouble connecting wirelessly;

      Try following the advice I was given here which is;

      Go to Control Panel > Network and Sharing Centre

      Select the Wireless Connection and then Wireless Properties

      Click on the Security tab

      Select WPA-Personal
      Select Encryption TKIP
      Enter the Sky supplied WiFi key

      Funny thing is I had already tried these settings with no luck, but then it seemed to work as if by magic!

      Hope this helps you.

    4. #3
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Vista - WPA - PSK Issues

      Glad someone else has commented on what I've been bitchin' about for months. Those idiots at Microsoft have changed the wireless security terminology in Vista to something vague that doesn't match the teminology used in almost all routers.

      I suspect all this WPA Personal and Personal2 nonesense is borrowed from Apple.

      Trying to network either Vista or Apple machines is made needlessly confusing by this eccentricity.

    5. #4
      Chevans's Avatar
      Chevans is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Vista - WPA - PSK Issues

      Cheers Lager Lout, thought i would leave it for a day and see what happens but so far it is still doing the same. I can't think what to do?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Vista - WPA - PSK Issues

      Are you still using the default key? If you are, try changing it to one of your own. Remember you will have to change it on the XP machine. Reboot the router and the PCs. Try to connect. Remember also that the key is case sensitive.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Vista - WPA - PSK Issues

      why's everyone faffing about with manually configuring the wireless? in vista, right click on the 2 monitors, select connect to a network and select your router. enter the WPA key and that's it!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Vista - WPA - PSK Issues

      ^^^^^^^
      I think you are missing the point that he has tried to enter the key with no success

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Vista - WPA - PSK Issues

      it still shouldn't need faffing about with manual settings though...if Windows XP picks it up fine then it's an issue with either the wireless card or something in Vista...I'd actually go down the static IP router (with all other PC's off just to make sure they aren't using the same one at the time of config - or use one over 20) and see if this helps...

      as for Sky not being helpful, they don't offer support for built in wireless so what do you expect? bar telling you how to connect using the basic 'connect to a network' there's nothing for them to do...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Vista - WPA - PSK Issues

      ^^^^^^^^
      Have to agree. I think 9 out of 10 problems with connecting wirelessly is down to entering the key incorrectly.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      dsldude's Avatar
      dsldude is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Vista - WPA - PSK Issues

      Yep generally just using start / connect to works fine providing you
      enter the key in correctly ( IN CAPS).

      if you start getting errors about the network not responding then
      change the channel on the router status page.

      and if wireless shows connected but local access only set a static ip
      on the wireless adaptor, and of course check you have a internet light
      on the router first

      these are the normal vista calls and resolutions we encounter on the sky
      helpline

      Add for the OP, its worth going to
      control panel/network and sharing centre/manage wireless networks
      remove any saved wireless profiles on the list then go try conecting by pressing start / conect to and try to conect with the 8 digit WPA key and dont forget the key is all letters and in CAPS
      Last edited by dsldude; 07-08-08 at 02:07 PM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION