Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 39

    Max 512KB line speed

    This is a discussion on Max 512KB line speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I have recently moved to brand new set of flats in Isleworth (London), , got BT to install a ...

    1. #1
      k_aftab's Avatar
      k_aftab is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Isleworth
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Max 512KB line speed

      Hi

      I have recently moved to brand new set of flats in Isleworth (London), , got BT to install a line and now have an issue that SKY and BT both are saying that my line can only support upto 512KB and 256KB respectively, which is not acceptable to me as i work from home often.

      My new flat is 1.3 km away my local exchange while my parents live 2.3 km away from their local exchange but they get 4MB speed. Not sure what going on

      Is there any thing i can do to get faster line and/or what are my other options (if any) apart from moving home.


      KA


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Max 512KB line speed

      Is that 1.3 as the crow flies as telephone lines do not follow crows
      Put your details in here:
      SkyUser - Sky Broadband Availability and Exchange Checker
      an see what it says for your distance, estimated speed etc. Oh and if you want to use it for work then it's an idea to not choose a residential service. Business services are more expensive for a reason.

    4. #3
      k_aftab's Avatar
      k_aftab is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Isleworth
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max 512KB line speed

      Thanks for the reply

      Is that 1.3 as the crow flies as telephone lines do not follow crows
      It looks like it might be in this case.



      Well the link didn't tell me the distance but other details are:

      Exchange Information
      Name: Isleworth
      Code: LWISL
      Post Code: TW76AR
      Location: TWICKENHAM ROAD, MIDDLESEX
      Your Available Services
      You can receive Sky / Easynet LLU
      You can receive BT ADSL BT xDSL
      You can receive BT ADSL Max BT xDSL
      You can receive AOL LLU
      You can receive Be LLU
      You can receive Carphone Warehouse LLU
      You cannot receive NTL Cable
      You can receive Pipex LLU
      You can receive Tiscali LLU
      You can receive Virgin Cable
      You can receive Wanadoo LLU
      You cannot receive Zen Internet LLU
      You can receive Bulldog LLU
      You cannot receive NTL Cable
      You can receive Telewest Cable



      ADSL2+ said

      ADSL2+ Speed Test
      We estimate your line is capable of between 16mb to 24mb broadband on an ADSL2+ service.



      Line Speed Checker (ADSL)
      We have determined your line is capable of upto 0mb or 0Kbps.
      Full Details:

      500Kbps/256Kbps most likely unviable, engineer check needed to confirm.
      ADSL MAX (upto 8mb) might be available, line test pending.
      Please note: the speed given is just an estimate, factors other than line length will impact your speed.
      This test will only for upto 8MB products (ADSL Max), LLU services can go upto 24mb
      .

      My company won't pay for me having the business service.

      KA

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Max 512KB line speed

      Quote Originally Posted by k_aftab View Post
      Thanks for the reply



      It looks like it might be in this case.



      Well the link didn't tell me the distance but other details are:
      Weird, try this one
      ::. Kitz - ADSL line and exchange checker .::

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Max 512KB line speed

      It could be your line has not yet 'settled'. There have been reports on the forum of lines taking 10-14 to achieve the full speed.

      I think you may find that if the wiring to and in the flat is OK, you will get a quite respectable speed. Unfortunately, phone wiring in flats is not always very efficient as far as broadband is concerned. It depends on how the connection has been made to the main lines.

      Sky will not be interested in the fact that you need it for your work, in fact if they consider that to be a business or comercial use, they may cut you off completely.
      (a) Sky Broadband is for private use by you and members of your household only. It must not be used for any commercial or business purpose.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      k_aftab's Avatar
      k_aftab is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Isleworth
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max 512KB line speed

      Guys, thanks for info

      PaulSky, details are follows

      Exchange: Isleworth. BT Code: LWISL
      Location: Twickenham Road, TW7 6AR.
      ADSL enabled : March 31, 2000
      dsl Max enabled: March 31, 2006
      SDSL enabled : Enabled
      21CN due : no info
      Distance:- Direct: 844 metres
      (appx)* By Road: 1.29 km

      BT Line Speed Estimation Other Broadband Technology & LLU Providers

      Fixed ADSL: 1024 kbps (1 Mb)
      DSL Max : 0 kbps (0 Mb)

      RAG Test Results

      Fixed: Long line green for 1Mbps, Red for 2Mbps
      radsl: Line has over 75dB loss, ADSL unlikely, but will be tested by an engineer on-site
      MAX: Max may not be available - tests pending
      SDSL: 256 kbps available
      SDSL: 256kbps 512kbps 1Mb 2Mb may be available.
      TPON: TPON/Fibre not recorded
      Check: No compatability issues

      Not sure what to do next?

      KA

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Max 512KB line speed

      get cable...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Max 512KB line speed

      radsl: Line has over 75dB loss, ADSL unlikely, but will be tested by an engineer on-site
      This is the important part, with an attenuation of 75db you are not going to get broadband. However with a road distance of only 1.29k, you have probably got a very short line and distance wise at least, you should get a fair speed. I think it is a case of the line not being settled. Give it a few days and look into it again, as I said earlier, this has happened before. If the situation does not improve, it is possibly down to the flats being badly wired, in that case, cable may be your best bet. Unless cable is prewired into the flats, that may not even be an option.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      k_aftab's Avatar
      k_aftab is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Isleworth
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max 512KB line speed

      thanks for bit more info

      Cable is not an option, it is not fitted and V doesn't provide it in the area.

      As i didn't have much info on what to do or why is is like that i didn't place the order with sky.

      Will waiting for few days help or not ?

      KA

    11. #10
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Max 512KB line speed

      It may do, how long has the line been installed? With that distance from exchange unless your line is really really bad you should get a half decent speed on the line.

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION