Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 39

    Max 512KB line speed

    This is a discussion on Max 512KB line speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; IF the attenuation bit is correct you're gonna be hard pushed to get BB at all...which obviously sucks!! however, it ...

    1. #11
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Max 512KB line speed

      IF the attenuation bit is correct you're gonna be hard pushed to get BB at all...which obviously sucks!!

      however, it has been know for BT to be very wrong and you might get a good service...might be worth giving it a try as if Sky can't provide you then you can cancel with no penalties and a full refund...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      k_aftab's Avatar
      k_aftab is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Isleworth
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max 512KB line speed

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      It may do, how long has the line been installed? With that distance from exchange unless your line is really really bad you should get a half decent speed on the line.
      Line was activated on 31 July 2008 (4 days ago), as far as the wiring goes i can't say much because it would the developers who have contracted BT (or someone else) to do the wiring.


      Man i hate moving house

      KA
      Last edited by k_aftab; 04-08-08 at 04:04 PM.

    4. #13
      k_aftab's Avatar
      k_aftab is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Isleworth
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max 512KB line speed

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      however, it has been know for BT to be very wrong and you might get a good service...might be worth giving it a try as if Sky can't provide you then you can cancel with no penalties and a full refund...
      How does cancelling works? sorry haven't looked into it yet.

      KA

    5. #14
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Max 512KB line speed

      Quote Originally Posted by k_aftab View Post
      Line was activated on 31 July 2008 (4 days ago), as far as the wiring goes i can't say much because it would the developers who have contracted BT (or someone else) to ddo the wiring.

      KA
      Give it a couple more days and then check what the links say again as sometimes it takes a few days for the info to show correctly on the database. You may find the numbers improve for you.

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Max 512KB line speed

      If you have or want the Sky TV service, then you could try them for broadband. As mentioned, if it does not work, you will get your money back. If you don't want and don't have Sky TV, don't sign up until you find out. Getting out of the broadband contract is easy, but it is almost impossible to get out of the TV part, once the equipment is finished.

      The unfortunate thing is if Sky can't supply you it is very unlikely any other ISP can.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      k_aftab's Avatar
      k_aftab is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Isleworth
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max 512KB line speed

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Give it a couple more days and then check what the links say again as sometimes it takes a few days for the info to show correctly on the database. You may find the numbers improve for you.
      Sure, will wait for few more days before ordering (been with without internet at home for last 7 days now)

      How is SKY in terms of equipment, support and relialibality of service?

      KA

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Max 512KB line speed

      Probably a browse through these parts of the forum will give you an idea-
      Sky happiness

      Sky unhappiness

      In a great many cases poor performance is down to the phone line, which Sky has no control over.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      k_aftab's Avatar
      k_aftab is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Isleworth
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max 512KB line speed

      Thanks will do.

      when i moved into the new flat only master socket was connected but i opened it up and then connected the extension wire with the orginal BT wire and then connected it to the mastersocket. It was blue/white and white/blue combo but will double check (and take a pic of it ) once i get home

      Now could "attenuation being high" be due to me just connecting the wires together as i have seen some talk of Cabeling and faceplate stuff on the forum.


      KA

    10. #19
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Max 512KB line speed

      Quote Originally Posted by k_aftab View Post
      Thanks will do.

      when i moved into the new flat only master socket was connected but i opened it up and then connected the extension wire with the orginal BT wire and then connected it to the mastersocket. It was blue/white and white/blue combo but will double check (and take a pic of it ) once i get home

      Now could "attenuation being high" be due to me just connecting the wires together as i have seen some talk of Cabeling and faceplate stuff on the forum.


      KA
      You need to unplug that extension, if you have connected it directly to the incoming wires.

      Buy yourself a filtered faceplate, that will ensure that you have the best senario when you get ADSL installed, you may find that the way you have connected up the extension is the source of your problems, especially as the line lenght is not that long.

    11. #20
      k_aftab's Avatar
      k_aftab is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Isleworth
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max 512KB line speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      You need to unplug that extension, if you have connected it directly to the incoming wires.

      Buy yourself a filtered faceplate, that will ensure that you have the best senario when you get ADSL installed, you may find that the way you have connected up the extension is the source of your problems, especially as the line lenght is not that long.
      Cheers, will try that tomorrow.

      KA

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION