Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Sky Mid or Max?

    This is a discussion on Sky Mid or Max? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am thinking of moving from BT (option 3) to Sky. I guess like most people I'm wondering (a) which ...

    1. #1
      Don Regiano's Avatar
      Don Regiano is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wilmslow
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Mid or Max?

      I am thinking of moving from BT (option 3) to Sky. I guess like most people I'm wondering (a) which option to go for and (b) whichever I choose, will it be better than BT in terms of speed and reliability.

      A couple of months ago BT had to correct a fault at the local exchange when my BB went off. Since then the connection has been very reliable and my download speed has been consistently better (moved from an average of 2meg to about 3.3 - although speed tests suggest I can expect no more than about 1.5 meg. I am about 2.1km from the exchange (Wilmslow - 01625) and I believe my line attenuation is quite high. Here are my router stats (Netgear DG834N):

      System Up Time 145:49:08
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1344534 1851676 0 434 4113 136:28:38
      LAN 10M/100M 16670 0 0 7 0 145:49:01
      WLAN 11M/54M/270M 1932762 1421530 0 3995 462 145:48:53


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3264 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.0 db 30.0 db
      Noise Margin 6.3 db 18.0 db

      I am not, therefore, convinced that I would see any benefit from taking Sky Max.

      Any views? Thanks in advance!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky Mid or Max?

      It will come down to usage and enforcement, the only real difference you would see between the 2 would mainly be the "limit" placed on how much you can download per month. How heavily would you use the connection?

    4. #3
      Don Regiano's Avatar
      Don Regiano is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wilmslow
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Mid or Max?

      Thanks. I don't think usage would be a problem. Normally it would be only about 10gig except when the 2 boys are home from college. They tend to use about 9 each but one will be returning to college at the end of September. I would expect to stay within the allowance of the mid package.

      I guess you are confirming my thoughts that I wouldn't see any speed advantage by going to max.

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky Mid or Max?

      From your attenuation you may get a bit more speed but you won't get enough to worry about being on a 8Mb+ package.
      Put your details in the links below and you will get a better idea of line distance to exchange and speeds possible. If your attenuation distance is significantly different you may be able to get a bit more speed by improving the connection at your end (internal wiring etc).
      http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/adslchecker.php
      http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/max_speed_calc.php
      Last edited by PaulSky; 01-08-08 at 05:02 PM.

    6. #5
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky Mid or Max?

      I believe you can upgrade at any time during the 12 months but cannot downgrade until the end of this.

      Therefore it may be in your interest to go for mid and upgrade if you get an e-mail from sky saying you have over used the limit.

      I am doing the same on the base paackage and have never had an e-mail so would assume all is okay.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Mid or Max?





      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      Don Regiano's Avatar
      Don Regiano is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wilmslow
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Mid or Max?

      Thanks for all the advice guys, I will check out those links.

      Reg

    9. #8
      mohamedhussain1995's Avatar
      mohamedhussain1995 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Mid or Max?

      i will say mid i bought and got max and i always have to phone them telling them to my speed to 16 from 98 for some reason they don't even know they put my speed to 8

    10. #9
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky Mid or Max?

      Have you actually checked your stats to see if your line can handle high speeds and isn't showing errors etc? It may be a line issue causing the speed problem.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Mid or Max?

      @mohamedhussain1995
      i will say mid i bought and got max and i always have to phone them telling them to my speed to 16 from 98 for some reason they don't even know they put my speed to 8
      Having been sent 5 routers by Sky it seems you could do with a bit of help with your connection. Why not start a thread of your own and post the full detailed stats from one of the white routers you received. This cannot be done yet with the V2 routers.

      Obtain the stats by scrolling down this page-
      Mel's Notes
      press the DG834GT Detailed Stats button and copy & Paste to your post.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION