Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    Should i be getting better speeds ?

    This is a discussion on Should i be getting better speeds ? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I think if Brian, our BT guru, is around he will confirm that a very quiet hiss is normal in ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Should i be getting better speeds ?

      I think if Brian, our BT guru, is around he will confirm that a very quiet hiss is normal in this type of test. It might not work in your area, but you could try an official quiet line test. To do this plug a corded phone into the Test socket and dial 17070, option 2 and see if there is noise on your line. I believe this should be completely quiet, maybe Brian will confirm.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Should i be getting better speeds ?

      hate to say it, but i would be very surprised if you get 16Mbps with that attenuation...

      still, as said already, best wait for Brian to chip in
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #13
      glennlavender's Avatar
      glennlavender is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norton (UK)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Location
      Billingham (UK)
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should i be getting better speeds ?

      thanks i never he ard of the officail quiet test in my area but ill phone up and give it a try
      .
      I know i prob never get the full 16 but i will atleast id be happy with at least 13 or 14 mb tho and that what my line ment to be caplable of acording to sky etc

    5. #14
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Should i be getting better speeds ?

      A low hiss from a wired phone connected to the test socket is normal. You should get this from a single dial digit (to kill the dial tone) or from a quiet line test.
      Whats important is the hiss is constant and on a good line you have to listern for it. What you do not want is pops, crackles etc.

    6. #15
      glennlavender's Avatar
      glennlavender is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norton (UK)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Location
      Billingham (UK)
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should i be getting better speeds ?

      well it is constants and there is the odd like crackle when i first get connected to some one.

    7. #16
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Should i be getting better speeds ?

      If you are in any doubt at all, then give faults a ring and they will run a line test. This will pass, and if you still want a visit from BT to check the line, there will be a charge.
      So your best route may be to go through Sky. However they will not be too willing to pass this to BT, they will send you a new router first.
      AS a last resort, have a look at your master socket, and check that the connections to A and B are tight.

    8. #17
      glennlavender's Avatar
      glennlavender is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norton (UK)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Location
      Billingham (UK)
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should i be getting better speeds ?

      ill give that a go thanks

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Should i be getting better speeds ?

      Brian, do BT still have the on-line fault checker? I seem to remember you could go to a page, put your number in and it would run an automatic test.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Should i be getting better speeds ?

      Yes there is, but it is very unreliable, you are better off phoning faults. I am not sure where it is.

      If you go to Faults on the BT site you will find it
      Last edited by Brian69; 30-07-08 at 10:11 PM.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION