Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    internet going bad

    This is a discussion on internet going bad within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey, Over the last 2 months the I light on my router (DG834GT) has been flashing orange and my internet ...

    1. #1
      Kurby's Avatar
      Kurby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      86
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      internet going bad

      Hey,

      Over the last 2 months the I light on my router (DG834GT) has been flashing orange and my internet goes out. This is normally fixed when I reset the router and wait for a minute or log into the router through my computer, but today its been orange for hours, I have reset the router but had no luck and have just got it back on (after 1-2 hours of having no internet). Does anyone know what the orange light means? I will probably give sky a call tomorrow but i'm just hoping theres a quick fix or somthing to it :P

      Thanks in Advance

      Kurby

      ps: i didn't post this in sky router section because i thought it may be somthing to do with my connection.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: internet going bad

      How are you connected to the telephone line, any extensions in use, have you got filters on your socket(s) and can you post your attenuation, SNR and synch speed stats from the router?

    4. #3
      Kurby's Avatar
      Kurby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      86
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: internet going bad

      Yes I use a extension to connect the router to the master socket, but I have tried it with my router plugged directly into the master socket and the speed is no different which is why I use a extension.

      Sorry whats the site for the router stats? :P i used to have it bookmarked but i have recently lost all my bookmarks :P

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: internet going bad

      Just get basic stats for now from 192.168.0.1 (SNR, Attenuation and synch) for your main socket and again from the extension as a comparrison.
      Also what else is on your line?? Do you have sky tv and if so is it filtered as all the permanent sockets in use on the line must have a filter on them before anything attaches to the socket itself.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: internet going bad

      You could try posting your detailed stats using the utility in MelsNotes it is possible you are generating a large amount of errors. As Paul says, take a comparison between the Test socket and your extension. Just because the speed is the same, does not mean that it is as stable. Try taking your basic stats from both positions and post them. Then allow your connection to run for a few hours in the extension, then take your detailed stats. It is no use taking them right away as you must give it time for the error rate to show.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      SilverJDM's Avatar
      SilverJDM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bracknell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Forest Park, Bracknell
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: internet going bad

      Quote Originally Posted by Kurby View Post
      Hey,

      Over the last 2 months the I light on my router (DG834GT) has been flashing orange and my internet goes out. This is normally fixed when I reset the router and wait for a minute or log into the router through my computer, but today its been orange for hours, I have reset the router but had no luck and have just got it back on (after 1-2 hours of having no internet). Does anyone know what the orange light means? I will probably give sky a call tomorrow but i'm just hoping theres a quick fix or somthing to it :P

      Thanks in Advance

      Kurby

      ps: i didn't post this in sky router section because i thought it may be somthing to do with my connection.
      I've been having the same problem for the last few days & just couldn't get reconnected this morning before I came to work... As far as I know nothing has changed at home so could it be the local exchange? Also how do I post my stats if I can't connect at home? (I'm sending this from work)

    8. #7
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: internet going bad

      You don't need an internet connection to get to basic stats, just browse to 192.168.0.1, login as admin, password sky. On the router status page you should have downstream and upstream speeds, attenuation and snr levels. Post those and we will have a look.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION