Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    128kbps??? ...please help

    This is a discussion on 128kbps??? ...please help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; chaps. i was wondering if someone could shed some light on a problem im having. i recently subscribed to sky ...

    1. #1
      shielsy's Avatar
      shielsy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      128kbps??? ...please help

      chaps. i was wondering if someone could shed some light on a problem im having. i recently subscribed to sky connect and my activation date was last wednesday(23.07/08). however since then im getting a really poor connection. it is consistantly the same speed even when i reboot the router. when i do a test, i get error 500.

      here are the stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 128 kbps 64 kbps
      Line Attenuation 11.0 db 6.0 db
      Noise Margin 30.3 db 31.0 db

      any advice?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 128kbps??? ...please help

      Quote Originally Posted by shielsy View Post
      chaps. i was wondering if someone could shed some light on a problem im having. i recently subscribed to sky connect and my activation date was last wednesday(23.07/08). however since then im getting a really poor connection. it is consistantly the same speed even when i reboot the router. when i do a test, i get error 500.

      here are the stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 128 kbps 64 kbps
      Line Attenuation 11.0 db 6.0 db
      Noise Margin 30.3 db 31.0 db

      any advice?
      hello

      firstly welcome to the forum

      secondly.... has that been the highest sync?

      you need to phone this number 08442 410 515

      and report your problem as a slow connection and get a ticket raised for cst

      with those stats you should be getting about full whack but your noise margin does seem very high!!

      are you near your exchange?

    4. #3
      shielsy's Avatar
      shielsy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 128kbps??? ...please help

      yes its literally at the end of my road. ive tried swapping the filters and also tried different sockets in my house. however i constantly get the same speed.

    5. #4
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 128kbps??? ...please help

      Quote Originally Posted by shielsy View Post
      yes its literally at the end of my road. ive tried swapping the filters and also tried different sockets in my house. however i constantly get the same speed.
      yeah.. plug the router in your test socket on your master socket and see if that improves it... if not then definately phone the number ive given you they should raise a ticket for you and get you speed raised hopefully..

      but it must be in test socket to get the best results

    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: 128kbps??? ...please help

      Apart from the 10 day training period that T1 are told to quote. you need to definately go to T1 for speed and config but unless you hit someone that recognised the issue you will be told you have to wait till the end of the training period. Your router has been put on the wrong config profile and needs to be sorted through CST. Moving the router to the test socket will do nothing to help in this case I would expect.

    7. #6
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 128kbps??? ...please help

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Apart from the 10 day training period that T1 are told to quote. you need to definately go to T1 for speed and config but unless you hit someone that recognised the issue you will be told you have to wait till the end of the training period. Your router has been put on the wrong config profile and needs to be sorted through CST. Moving the router to the test socket will do nothing to help in this case I would expect.
      but phone the number ive given and get a ticket raised

    8. #7
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: 128kbps??? ...please help

      A ticket cannot be raised within the 10 day Connect training period unless the agent you speak to
      a) recognises the issues
      or
      b) is willing to risk being spoken to by his team leader for not following the stated process.

    9. #8
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 128kbps??? ...please help

      ah right fair enough

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: 128kbps??? ...please help

      The fact that it is a Connect package complicates things. Sky have no control over Connect, only BT can fix it. I know it is laid down in the T1 rules that a user must wait 10 days for an escalation, but in this case it is very obvious that something is wrong, even the most ignorant among them must realize this. It may be cheating, but in your position I would phone Sky and tell them you have no connection at all, which is not far from the truth. This may get them off there well spread backsides and make an effort to contact BT. Unfortunately they will probably just send you another router.

      I find it strange that other ISPs using BTs ADSLMax, can pick up a phone and have problems like this fixed in minutes. I know as it happened with me when I was with Plusnet. Sky insist on their stupid 10 day rule.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: 128kbps??? ...please help

      Like I said above if you get an agent that recognises the issue you may get lucky, I've had a couple of these and have risked the wrath to put it through to cst to be escalated. Problem is that the processes are being enforced heavily at the moment due to another campaign in process with Sky so you may find that a lot of agents are too worried to cross the line.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION