Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Talktalk to Sky

    This is a discussion on Talktalk to Sky within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there, Recently my contract with talktalk finished, they tried to offer me a new one at a discounted price. ...

    1. #1
      Spectre23's Avatar
      Spectre23 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMBA
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Talktalk to Sky

      Hi there,

      Recently my contract with talktalk finished, they tried to offer me a new one at a discounted price. I said no "naturally" . I assume eventually my connection will be stopped, as im no longer taking up another contract?

      I already have Sky TV and figured why not swap over to their internet and phone service.

      At the moment i know i would need my phone line swapped back to BT. My question is do i need to have a new router as im not sure if mine supports Sky's. I have a Belkin 7633. I'm hoping to go onto their max product when i do order it. I know my exchange is Sky enabled (SMBA). Just curious on what speed i should expect. Im guessing 12Mb - 13 maybe?

      Data rate (Kbps) 8076 443
      Noise margin (dB) 7.3 27.0
      Output power (dBm) 0.0 12.6
      Attenuation (dB) 38.0 19.0


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Talktalk to Sky

      Sky's T&Cs state you must use the router supplied by Sky - although some chose to break this and use their own by extracting the username/password from the Sky-supplied one...

      they're fine though, so you shouldn't need to do it...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Spectre23's Avatar
      Spectre23 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMBA
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Talktalk to Sky

      I dont mind swapping, just wondered if sky's is better than what i got? Stability etc

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Talktalk to Sky

      I think TT will be like other ISPs and put you on a 30 day contract until you leave or sign up for a further year.

      If your attenuation remained the same with the Sky router, you will not get the speed you suggest, more like 9-10, if ADSL2+ will work on your line. There is a good chance that it will not work and you will be put on G.DMT which will give you much the same as you have at present. Others may disagree, but if your only reason for leaving TT is expectation of a much higher speed then you should reconsider. There are other advantages such as no throttling and unlimited(subject toFUP) downloads on Max.

      Something you might want to try is plugging into your Test socket and comparing the stats from there. There is a chance that your internal wiring is slowing your connection. You really need to see a much higher noise margin to expect any more speed.

      Sorry if I seem to be raining on your parade, but there is no point in glossing over the bad points.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Spectre23's Avatar
      Spectre23 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMBA
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Talktalk to Sky

      I dont mind what boost i get, even if its 8MB i would still swap. I'd rather pay for all 3 services from Sky, rather than 2 seperate companies providing the services i require. TT said i could only get 3.5MB. I get over 6700, which im guessing 6.5MB? Even if i get 9 - 10 on an ADSL2+ line, that is acceptable to me, as long as the service is top notch from sky, which im guessing it is, thats fine with me. Also the internal wiring could be improved slightly so im willing to test it out, if i get 8MB, then 8mb it is, any more, excellent , i cant complain. Its better to try than not try at all
      Last edited by Spectre23; 28-07-08 at 09:28 PM.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Talktalk to Sky

      Unfortunately experiences with Sky are very varied, it is just your luck if you get good service or not. A look through these sections might give you an idea what I mean,-
      Sky unhappiness
      or
      Sky happiness

      You can have a really good experience, as I have done for 2 years, or it can be the pits. Sky should thank their lucky stars that this forum exists or it would be a whole lot worse for a lot of users.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION