Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    new to sky broadband

    This is a discussion on new to sky broadband within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi first time on here so not sure if im in the right section. Received router today but still waiting ...

    1. #1
      mariam's Avatar
      mariam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01480
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Location
      cambridgeshire
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      new to sky broadband

      Hi
      first time on here so not sure if im in the right section.
      Received router today but still waiting for activation date. If my pc is in one room and my phone line in another room can i still connect /setup if i get a wireless adapter or does the phone line need to be in the same room as pc.
      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: new to sky broadband

      Router connects to phone line so in theory only that needs to be near the telephone socket. The PC can be wireless to the router. It's easiest to set up on ethernet but can be done wirelessly if the adaptor in use is fully compatible with the router.

    4. #3
      steesh2302's Avatar
      steesh2302 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: VM 10Meg
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: VM V+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Just Ootside Toon
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool Re: new to sky broadband

      Hi Mariam

      No, your PC can stay where it is, plug your router (when activated) in the telephone socket (master), but remember the filter in first.

      Install the driver for your wireless USB device on PC, then configure it with the info on the bottom of the router

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: new to sky broadband

      Welcome to the forum.

      If my pc is in one room and my phone line in another room can i still connect /setup if i get a wireless adapter or does the phone line need to be in the same room as pc.
      You could either use wireless from the PC to the router, or run an extension from the phone socket to the PC or plug the router in the phone socket and then run an RJ45 cable from the router to the PC.

      If using wireless, you may be better just moving the PC to the phone socket to set it all up, then move it back.

      If you get stuck or not sure just ask.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      mariam's Avatar
      mariam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01480
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Location
      cambridgeshire
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new to sky broadband

      So would it be better to go wireless or put in a phone extension to pc room and connect
      ethernet.

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: new to sky broadband

      Your call. You would always get a better standard of connection on wired, however not as convenient as wireless.

      If you are playing games online, and do a lot of downloading etc, I would go the wired route.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      mariam's Avatar
      mariam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01480
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Location
      cambridgeshire
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new to sky broadband

      Thats great ,thanks all. Let you know how i get on.

    9. #8
      steesh2302's Avatar
      steesh2302 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: VM 10Meg
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: VM V+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Just Ootside Toon
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool Re: new to sky broadband

      Of course - not illegal downloading of MP3's tho!

    10. #9
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: new to sky broadband

      Quote Originally Posted by mariam View Post
      So would it be better to go wireless or put in a phone extension to pc room and connect ethernet.
      Leaving the router at the socket and running ethernet to the PC would be better. How far from the PC is the router/ telephone socket?

    11. #10
      mariam's Avatar
      mariam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01480
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Location
      cambridgeshire
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new to sky broadband

      About 15 meters

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION