Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    So do I really need Zone Alarm

    This is a discussion on So do I really need Zone Alarm within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Have suffered from the well publicised Zone Alarm vs Microsoft security update for the last week or so. Removed the ...

    1. #1
      humfer's Avatar
      humfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      So do I really need Zone Alarm

      Have suffered from the well publicised Zone Alarm vs Microsoft security update for the last week or so. Removed the security update and installed the latest version of zone alarm but not convinced its totally fixed, as get intermetent hanging when trying to log on. And most times to fix, I reset zone alarm to fully off, turn the router off and on, and all ok again.

      Seem to remember reading somewhere that the sky router has its own firewall. Therefore any reason not to just delete zone alarm altogether and maybe as a compromise turn the windows XP firewall on?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: So do I really need Zone Alarm

      The router and XP's firewall will do a very effective job in keeping "baddies" from accessing your computer via an inbound connection. Neither will stop any nasties on your computer (e.g. installed via email, browser exploits, dodgy files that you've executed etc) from calling back home or spreading.

      Do you need a personal firewall? Possibly not if you're scrupulous about what you install on your computer and keep it up to date with security fixes. Even then, it would generally be thought to be better to have one.

      If you're not happy with ZA and are reasonably technically savvy, there are a number of alternatives - some free.

    4. #3
      x LAGER LOUT x's Avatar
      x LAGER LOUT x is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aldershot:THAD
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Aldershot
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: So do I really need Zone Alarm

      Completely agree with Saturday, I don't use anything in addition to Windows Firewall and the inbuilt router one and I never have a problem. As long as you are careful and a bit savvy to the sort of things that could pose problems then a third party firewall isn't neccessary.

    5. #4
      sparkey's Avatar
      sparkey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01834
      Broadband ISP: BT ADSL2+
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Tenby
      Posts
      354
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: So do I really need Zone Alarm

      I use ZA as I like to know what programs are using the net as sometimes the kids get on it and I want to be on the safe side.

    6. #5
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: So do I really need Zone Alarm

      I use Zone Alarm for the same reasons as posted above as your Sky router will not do this.

    7. #6
      itype's Avatar
      itype is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke, THBZ
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Location
      Hampshire
      Posts
      315
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: So do I really need Zone Alarm

      I do not have a problem with ZA at the moment, touch wood.

      To be honest, having a firewall installed is advisable. However, I went a year without an Anti Virus program and I didn't catch anything. I only started catching stuff (from sites I always visit) once I had installed my AV.

      It is your decision at the end of the day, the inbuilt FW that the router provides doesn't protect your system, it protects your internet connection.

    8. #7
      pebbleheed's Avatar
      pebbleheed is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: 3 for 26
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      106
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: So do I really need Zone Alarm

      I would always recommend people sit behind a firewall and normally it's better not to rely on the inbuilt Windows one.

      The best firewalls I've found so far are Outpost and the NOD32 firewall product. Obviously you don't use 2 at once, only 1.

      Zonealarm is one that I'm not so keen on, but some people seem to like it.


      Still NO solution from Sky! Still not fixed!

    9. #8
      pskyp's Avatar
      pskyp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: So do I really need Zone Alarm

      pc tools firewall and anti virus is pretty cool and both free

    10. #9
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: So do I really need Zone Alarm

      If you are using Vista then the MS firewall is much improved and does filter incoming and outgoing traffic. I did start to use PC Tools Firewall v4 with Vista but have now ceased and rely upon the Vista Firewall and the Routers hardware firewall. It's working well for me.

    11. #10
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: So do I really need Zone Alarm

      I have tried a fair few firewalls. I am currently using comodo. I have not had a single issue with this. One of the best free one's that I have found.

      Worth a look for people without firewalls.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION