Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    Reduced Downstream speed

    This is a discussion on Reduced Downstream speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; It definitely looks like you are capped at 3072. Try with the Netgear and run it there for a while ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Reduced Downstream speed

      It definitely looks like you are capped at 3072. Try with the Netgear and run it there for a while to get an idea of the errors, if any.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      deff's Avatar
      deff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: London
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Reduced Downstream speed

      Hi,

      I have got a faceplate for the master socket. I will put this inplace before phoning sky about removing any cap.

      One final question about which router to use, DG834GT or Sagem.

      I have both. Sky sent me the Sagem to replace the DG834GT as they thought that the problem could be the router.

      Deff

    4. #13
      BadBoyTC's Avatar
      BadBoyTC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MROLD
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Manchester, England.
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Reduced Downstream speed

      Sorry OP for moving the subject a bit, but I'm on the same problem as you too.

      My download from speedtest was 4-6 MB but after the router update its gone down to 2-3 Meg.

      Here are my stats:

      System Up Time 02:15:10
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 285764 337043 0 21704 46655 02:14:21
      LAN 10M/100M 51972 41973 0 6080 1510 02:15:07
      WLAN 11M/54M/108M 288851 255004 0 41021 20709 02:15:00

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3072 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.0 db 25.3 db
      Noise Margin 16.6 db 22.5 db

      Please tell me the problem I have, I've seen above posts and mine are nearly same as OP with down speed of 3072. And I'm still using Sky's DG834GT.

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Reduced Downstream speed

      Before you phone Sky, put the router back into the Test socket. They usually ask you to do this as part of the trouble-shooting even if you have an ADSL faceplate, so it saves disconnecting and phone back.

      I personally think the DG834 is a better router, but as they have sent you a Sagem as part of the trouble-shooting, you would be better using that when you phone. You can always change back to the Netgear if you want after your problem is sorted.

      @BadBoyTC
      I think your line may be undergoing DLM training. Phone Sky and ask them. The same applies, plug into the Test socket if you have one, the Master socket if you don't. Your line looks like it is capable of 6Mbps.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      deff's Avatar
      deff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: London
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Reduced Downstream speed

      Thanks to all who replied. SKY confirmed that my line had DLM training which has now finished. They increased the download speed to around 8MB. Apparently this is what my line can cope with.

      This better than before so I can't complain

      Deff

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Reduced Downstream speed

      I would think they have put you back to G.DMT. Some lines perform badly with ADSL2+, yours is probably one of them. Better a good stable 8Mb connection than a 12-13 one that gives nothing but problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      dt101187's Avatar
      dt101187 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Reduced Downstream speed

      dlm is a pain in the ass for cst t1 and the eu who ever made it should be shot
      Last edited by dt101187; 23-07-08 at 07:31 PM.

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Reduced Downstream speed

      ^^^^^^^^^
      I think you are just showing your ignorance of Dynamic Line Management and what it does. It is a proven system which has been in use for a long time not something that someone at Sky 'made' in their spare time.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      deff's Avatar
      deff is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: London
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Reduced Downstream speed

      I put in a face plate from ADSL nation. The strange this the line seems a lot clear than when using the BT Test socket.

      Here are my new router stats

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 265:30:36
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 3200 5223 0 0 0 1:21:14
      LAN 822549 729892 0 0 0 265:30:36
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 265:30:14
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7645 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 32.0 db 15.8 db
      Noise Margin 15.3 db 23.5 db

      Deff

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Reduced Downstream speed

      If DLM is not running on your line, which it may be, you have been capped. Your high noise margin suggests this. I would give it a few more days and if your speed does not increase, give Sky a call and ask them if the cap can be removed. You line looks like it will easily support 10Mb, it may even manage 12-13Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION