Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    odd problem

    This is a discussion on odd problem within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ok...so here is my problem i came off DLM last week and got my speed brought back up on monday ...

    1. #1
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy odd problem

      ok...so here is my problem


      i came off DLM last week and got my speed brought back up on monday

      the lady capped my line at 2528kbps

      last night i decided to switch my router off as it has been on for 3 weeks straght

      i left it off all night and my speed was at 416kbps... so i put my spare router on and it went back to 1920kbps

      so i put my netgear back on and it resynced at 2228kbps

      then i had a power cut and it dropped to 960kbps.. so i reset it again and its now 864kbps...and dropping everytime i reset...help!!!


      stats are below...atm

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 864 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 12.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: odd problem

      Looks like it's dropping on every reset because your line is deteriorating (noise is rising). Look at your noise margin - that shows that the router was only able to achieve a sync of 864kbps at the default noise margin (6.9db) the last time you rebooted.

      You have a line or possibly a router problem. Check your router cable/filters. The sort of erratic sync you're describing sounds like a connection problem.
      Last edited by Saturday; 19-07-08 at 09:39 PM.

    4. #3
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: odd problem

      great!!

      im getting fed up with phoning sky....its never ending..can i cancel sky now

      ive been with them since april 11th

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: odd problem

      If it's a line or connection problem then that has nothing to do with Sky.

    6. #5
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: odd problem

      yeah but im getting broadband from them..... can i cancel now...because i wanna go to virgin media...means no phone line....because ive always had problem with the line

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: odd problem

      Nope, no more than you could cancel Sky TV because you've got a dodgy electricity supply. If you really want to leave them then I suspect you'll have to pay the year first.

    8. #7
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: odd problem

      ah....

      well i really am at the end ...fed up with phoning people.....

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: odd problem

      Yep, it's no fun but what do you feel Sky can do to help? You have an extremely long line (I seem to recall from earlier posts that your attenuation off G.DMT was way over 63.5db). Assuming you've done all you can to fix local wiring problems (i.e. no extension, decent filtering etc) then all you can do is get Sky to cap your line at whatever speed is stable - probably around 1 meg.

      Otherwise, you'll just have to accept that ADSL just isn't for you and buy out your contract.

    10. #9
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: odd problem

      well the lady said it has been capped at 2.5mb

      i mean ive just resynced on test socket and got this..

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1696 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.7 db 14.0 db


      i mean im thinking of going virgin media but they are bloody expensive!!

      all i want is a stable 2mb connection as i know thats all im gonna get around here!

    11. #10
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: odd problem

      As saturday says to get things stable you will probably need to be capped at around 1 meg. I know virgin is expensive but in your case that may be the way to go as your line is on the limit for an adsl connection. You could always move house


     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION