Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Difference In Sky Speeds.

    This is a discussion on Difference In Sky Speeds. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, Well.. I've been doing some investigating since the sky router has been playing up (Loosing connection and then somehow ...

    1. #1
      Gaz1234's Avatar
      Gaz1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool Difference In Sky Speeds.

      Hello,


      Well.. I've been doing some investigating since the sky router has been playing up (Loosing connection and then somehow still showing that it has a connecting but not picking up any game survers or loading up google.

      Anyway, Im over that problem now as i havent had a problem with it since. My problem is Internet speed.

      Now, Im going to try and lay-out my Internet wires & router.....


      Downstairs (Phone) Wire goes upstairs ----------------> Into mother's room, Then Extension wire is plugged in and makes its way ----------------> Into the Router in my Room.

      Now for some reason, 3/4 Weeks ago i was download at speeds of 1.6+ mbs.
      Now i download off the same website (Rapidshare) at 100-200 kbs.

      Now if i take router downstairs and i plug it into the home phone and plug my laptop into LAN i manage to achieve download speedds of 1.6mbs +.

      Speed test from Upstairs LAN = 2.4mbs Download, 220Kbs Upload. Latency to London = 100-105.

      Speed test from Downstairs LAN/Wireless = 10Mbs Download, 700kbs Upload. Latency to London = 68-73.


      I've been speaking to some of my Tech friends, and We've came down to a few options.

      > Upstairs Wire is faulty.
      > Sky have Slowed down the throttle on my Internet Speed.
      > May be fast due to Plugged into main Home Phone.
      > Router = Faulty.

      But what i cant get my mind around is that it was fast downstairs as it was upstairs 3 weeks ago, but now what has happend?

      I personally was going to ring sky, (Am Only 15) But i dont have a clear route at which the problem is and how it can be confronted otherwise i would have done the problem all myself in a few clicks but this one i just cant get my finger round.

      Please help fix this freaky problem.

      Thanks,

      ~ GaZ

      P.S = Im Running SkyMax.

      Recently we had new downstairs flooring and the fella who done it had pulled out a few wires and when i plugged it back in i got the disconnect error on the router. and i get a message everytime i turn on sky box "For full access to sky make sure it's plugged into an active phoneline" but i doubt the wood flooring could have done anything to the wires.
      Last edited by Gaz1234; 15-07-08 at 08:14 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      re: Difference In Sky Speeds.

      Hi Gaz,

      Have you tried plugging your router into the test connector of your master socket, you have to unscrew the lower half of the faceplate to get at it.
      When you have done that log into your router and have a look at your router statistics.

      http://192.168.0.1/start.htm

      User admin, password sky

      Post the results.
      Long extentions will limit your connection speed but there are ways around this.
      Have a look here:

      DSL ZoneUK - Improve your speed - Extension wiring and Disconnection help


    4. #3
      Gaz1234's Avatar
      Gaz1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Difference In Sky Speeds.

      Before Using Test



      Using Test



      I opend up the face plate, I saw A,B,C,D....

      Then i opened up the top plate and i saw a few wires, which was the upstairs phone cord connected into the downstairs one.

      Am going to try the lan option from upstairs using one of the types in the link you sent me, also http://192.168.0.1/start.htm does not work.

      ~ GaZ

    5. #4
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      re: Difference In Sky Speeds.

      Sorry it didn't work I thought it was the same for all Sky routers, here is the link to Sky's help page

      Sky.com - Sky Help Centre>Product Help


    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      re: Difference In Sky Speeds.

      Quote Originally Posted by Gaz1234 View Post
      Am going to try the lan option from upstairs using one of the types in the link you sent me, also http://192.168.0.1/start.htm does not work.

      ~ GaZ

      Just use:

      http://192.168.0.1

      And the same login details.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      Gaz1234's Avatar
      Gaz1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Difference In Sky Speeds.

      Right,

      Ok... I tryed upstairs, again just like normal and the internet is unbeliabley slow. worse than dial up loading up this page...

      May be a wire accidently removed whilst looking at the main phonesocket.

      Anyway. Am going to report back the tests now from using the LAN option above.

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      re: Difference In Sky Speeds.

      The only wires you need for upstairs are number 2 and 5 in the socket. If I were you and you are confident, open the socket upstairs and try disconnecting any that are not in 2 and 5

      That would then (or should) be equivalent to the master socket.


      NOTE: Do not do this if you are not sure / confident
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 15-07-08 at 10:38 PM.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Differance In Sky Speeds.

      I think you will have to get your head round the fact that the extensions are causing the problem. Phoning Sky will only get you 2 things, a phone bill (unless you have Sky Talk) and possibly your speed capped. They best way to get a good connection to your room is to plug a filter into the Master socket, plug the router into it and run a long RJ45 cable to your room/PC. Or, plug a filter into the Master socket and use a long RJ11 cable to connect to your router in your room. RJ45 is effective up to 100M, RJ11 can give problems over about 15M.
      RJ45 = Router to PC
      RJ11 = Filter to Router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      narl's Avatar
      narl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      143
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Difference In Sky Speeds.

      Firstly remove the router from the extension socket, then bring it down to the master BT socket and connect it via microfilter. It should always be in the master socket becuase this is where your broadband signal is coming in, extension leads / sockets are only designed for one purpose and that is voice communication where as the BB service is digital so what you are doing is breaking your BB signal down (this is the reason why we always ask customers to use the master socket) if you want to use it this way well and good it is only a matter of buying a longer Ethernet cable and running it up the stairs.

    11. #10
      Gaz1234's Avatar
      Gaz1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Difference In Sky Speeds.

      Right ok, this is going to freak out ALL of you.

      I stopped using the Phone line from upstairs, I used an extension line and ran it all the way downstairs into my Master socket. Now im getting even faster speeds than before.

      13Mbs DL. 500-700 UL.

      Now i think im going to get a few nails and wire it to the wall, However i have looked at both sockets, master socket is completly differant to upstairs one, however upstairs was only using 2 and 5 as you said.

      But having the router plugged into the master socket and having a LAN (Rj45 Cable) Run all the way into my room, Differ in speed or make it any faster?

      Because....

      Yesterday, Router in master Socket =

      8Mbs DL 400 UL

      Today, Router in my room, about 4-5m distance away from Master socket.

      13/4Mbs DL. 600-700 UL

      So Can you see why im so freaked out?


      Regards,

      Gaz

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION