Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    Difference In Sky Speeds.

    This is a discussion on Difference In Sky Speeds. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Gaz, Please try looking at your router stats as previously suggested. Its the only accurate measurement of the speed of ...

    1. #11
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Difference In Sky Speeds.

      Gaz,

      Please try looking at your router stats as previously suggested.
      Its the only accurate measurement of the speed of your connection.

      The results you get from a speed test programme will vary during the day depending on how many folks are on line etc.

      You need to establish a benchmark for your link which you haven't done yet.

      PS You should have connections to pins 2 and 5 only on your extension, the bell wire pin 3 should be carefully removed at both ends. It acts as an aerial which puts noise on the line.



    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Difference In Sky Speeds.

      Also remember that all connections to the phone line must go through a filter. This includes the Sky digibox. An unfiltered connection being in use could account for your low speed in the Master socket at the time you tried it. Getting a faster speed than you can get from the Master/Test socket is impossible. It could also be DLM at work on your line, until you copy and paste the stats from the router into the thread, it is difficult to say what is wrong.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      Gaz1234's Avatar
      Gaz1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Difference In Sky Speeds.

      Ok im now on the computer upstairs using the Wire Extension,

      Im not using the phoneline from upstairs which goes downstairs, im having a wire connected directly to the router down into the main phonesocket which looks like a complete mess haha .

      I have looked at both the phone sockets and as far as what i can see they look exactly how you described.

      Router Statistics;

      Modem

      ADSL Firmware Version 6.02.01.00
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 15323 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 764 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38


      Regards,

      Gaz

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Difference In Sky Speeds.

      You have an excellent connection speed and a healthy noise margin, you will not do any better until some day in the future when Sky decide to lift the speed to 24Mbs. You should be very happy.

      Remember to make sure filters are used on all connections and you will have no problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Difference In Sky Speeds.

      Great stats, and I hate you, btw whats it like living in a telephone exchange?


    7. #16
      evilape619's Avatar
      evilape619 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01782632079
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Re: Sky Speeds.help me

      hi all i have just done a speed test and her r my results

      i dont think i am geting the most out of my internet
      i have sky max i have xp installed and i what to no is theer anything i can ddo to inproov it

    8. #17
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Difference In Sky Speeds.

      You do know that what ever package you take you can only get the speed that your line will take don't you? Can you get your router stats and post what it is synching at as a download speed and upload speed plus what your attenuation and SNR levels are?

    9. #18
      Gaz1234's Avatar
      Gaz1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Difference In Sky Speeds.

      Well,

      Firstly. I dont have my Sky+ Box connected to the phone line for some reason, i remember the guy from flooring pulling it out mum said anyway whilst i was at school, i've had a look myself and clueless, but ive been using the box 100% fine, Although i do recieve a message when i first turn it on

      "To ensure sky+ full capabilities please make sure the sky box is plugged into a active phoneline"
      Secondly. Can you see why im so confused? It just makes me so annoyed, I get varied speeds around the house. maybe im just under DLM which could explain the freaky old disconections from router and major loss of speed.

      Living in the exchange (In the area at which the fullest speed is capable, i think thats what it means) Is'nt bad, I now get downloads of 1.5-7Mbs on Rapidshare/Mediafire/Megaupload However the speed's for torrents suck xD but i cant have everything


      @ Evilape, Check your wires, Make sure the main wires are connected to the mastersocket (aka the downstairs one). Make your wire extension's as short as possible, OR
      Plan - Place the router downstairs and have a RJ45 aka Lan Cable run all the way upstairs into your PC. and a RJ11, Ethernet cable into your Mastersocket.


      Btw, If i was to place the router downstairs, And have a RJ45 (Lan) cable run all the way into my room, will that affect the speed increase/decrease. Also what does NoiseMargin mean? Sorry im kind of a noob at some of this,
      i plan to take IT (Technician) @ Basildon ITEC specialst college for IT and maybe networking (Because that's where the big moneys at xD) at Uni .


      Thank you all so much for your Help, Especially you Penrhyn

      Regards,

      - Gaz

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION