Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 21

    Why do I have to pay BT?

    This is a discussion on Why do I have to pay BT? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by solidstan I see no mention of 5 line rental for six months here? My mate has a ...

    1. #11
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Why do I have to pay BT?

      Quote Originally Posted by solidstan View Post
      I see no mention of 5 line rental for six months here?
      My mate has a knack of blagging what he can, he subscribed to the full hd package which was costing him around 75 / month. He threatened to cancel everything so they offered him 6 months 1/2 price on his hd as well as the line rental deal.

      Dont know whether him living in Blackpool which is totaly covered by Telewest ( Virgin ) had anything to do with it.

      He's gone to O2 now for bb
      Last edited by dholdi; 15-07-08 at 02:03 AM.



    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      paul7285's Avatar
      paul7285 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why do I have to pay BT?

      Quote Originally Posted by solidstan View Post
      Firstly, however paul7285 maybe correct. You did say there was already an active line at your property, Therefore, just call BT and ask them what the potential phone number for that property is.
      OR
      Transfer your old number to your new property with your old contract.
      Otherwise, If you request and new line with BT then yes, you will be stuck in a contract!
      My apologies, I didn't make that point very clear at all! solidstan is correct, if you have no pre-existing activated BT line and you sign up to line rental with BT (which you will have to do by the looks of it), you are locked into a 12 month contract - for line rental only though.

      You will still be free to move your calls to skytalk freetime, resulting in two bills. There are drawbacks with this though, as mentioned in the Sky Talk forum such as withdrawal of free caller display and 1571.

      It is also worth noting that if you have moved house and brought a BT line with you under the home movers scheme, your 12 month period will start again from the date of the move - check the small print on the website.

      You can call BT to check your in term date.

      Another point that was not clear from my previous post - if you take calls only from sky, line rental from BT Retail and sky broadband. You are using Carrier Pre Select (CPS) for your calls, not WLR. You will still be on an SMPF package owing to the Sky Broadband.

    4. #13
      solidstan's Avatar
      solidstan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      Bridgend
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why do I have to pay BT?

      Im not sure yhis is correct.
      Quote Originally Posted by paul7285 View Post
      You will still be free to move your calls to skytalk freetime, resulting in two bills. There are drawbacks with this though, as mentioned in the Sky Talk forum such as withdrawal of free caller display and 1571.
      Im sure with sky talk, you will still get FREE CALLER DISPLAY and FREE VOICEMAIL?
      see here Sky Talk Products

      EDIT!
      oops, my mistake!
      FREE CALLER DISPLAY and FREE VOICEMAIL, only come with sky LINE RENTAL!
      Last edited by solidstan; 15-07-08 at 02:55 PM. Reason: oops, my mistake!

    5. #14
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Why do I have to pay BT?

      If you do not get an active bt line it can cause a lot of problems for you and sky as sky can not run tests on the line and they also cannot find out who is on your line as bt will have no record of your number.

    6. #15
      aslo12's Avatar
      aslo12 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: balby doncaster
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why do I have to pay BT?

      Hi,
      I've just moved over to Sky Talk Unlimited and Line Rental, from BT. My Caller Display has now stopped working since the change on 19/08. Sky told my this service was free, before I changed over from BT. Any ideas on who I should ring to sort this out. Am not sure if its a BT or Sky issue and hate wasting time on 0870 calls getting nowhere fast.

    7. #16
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Why do I have to pay BT?

      As you now pay your line rental to Sky, you are no longer a customer of BT, therefore any problems with the line or the services on it should be directed to Sky.

    8. #17
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Why do I have to pay BT?

      Quote Originally Posted by aslo12 View Post
      Hi,
      I've just moved over to Sky Talk Unlimited and Line Rental, from BT. My Caller Display has now stopped working since the change on 19/08. Sky told my this service was free, before I changed over from BT. Any ideas on who I should ring to sort this out. Am not sure if its a BT or Sky issue and hate wasting time on 0870 calls getting nowhere fast.
      you know the number is 08442 410515, and is free if you're on SkyTalk don't you?...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #18
      aslo12's Avatar
      aslo12 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: balby doncaster
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: Why do I have to pay BT?

      All sorted now, thanks. I rang the customers services line and Caller Display had been left off my Sky Talk package. Will be activated within the next 72 hours. Thanks all for helping with my first post.

    10. #19
      jerrymind's Avatar
      jerrymind is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why do I have to pay BT?

      I pay all my bills to sky rather than BT.

    11. #20
      jerrymind's Avatar
      jerrymind is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why do I have to pay BT?

      Originally Posted by paul7285
      You will still be free to move your calls to skytalk freetime, resulting in two bills. There are drawbacks with this though, as mentioned in the Sky Talk forum such as withdrawal of free caller display and 1571.

      I hope that still counts.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION