Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23

    I'm on 8mb broadband and downloading at 35kb/s max?!

    This is a discussion on I'm on 8mb broadband and downloading at 35kb/s max?! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Right thanks i'll try that....

    1. #11
      Momentum's Avatar
      Momentum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I'm on 8mb broadband and downloading at 35kb/s max?!

      Right thanks i'll try that.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Momentum's Avatar
      Momentum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I'm on 8mb broadband and downloading at 35kb/s max?!

      I spoke to Sky today and it went with no avail I spoke to two people one who told me to change my Microfilter (I did so reluctantly) she also said that my case would be heightened should it not work, which when I rang back it was not and I was told to remove my socket faceplate and try the test socket which I did, and also had no change.

      Could anyone recommend something or shall I keep ringing and maybe get somewhere?

    4. #13
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: I'm on 8mb broadband and downloading at 35kb/s max?!

      Keep it in the test socket and call back, tell the agent you have called in twice already and have done the filter check and are currently in the test socket, they will then complete the slow speed config and escalate it. This is why you should try to make sure you are in the test socket if possible when calling as it's one of the steps in the troubleshooting anyway.

    5. #14
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMDRO
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101 + Huawei HG612
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,283
      Thanks
      346
      Thanked 154 Times in 148 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: I'm on 8mb broadband and downloading at 35kb/s max?!

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Keep it in the test socket and call back, tell the agent you have called in twice already and have done the filter check and are currently in the test socket, they will then complete the slow speed config and escalate it. This is why you should try to make sure you are in the test socket if possible when calling as it's one of the steps in the troubleshooting anyway.
      Just out of interest, what happens if you don't have a modern master socket that has a test socket under the faceplate? Does the support procedure allow for this situation?
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by Sky Broadband since 2007 ++

    6. #15
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: I'm on 8mb broadband and downloading at 35kb/s max?!

      Yep you just tell them you haven't got one, they move on and put it into your notes that no test socket is available.

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I'm on 8mb broadband and downloading at 35kb/s max?!

      Paul, Just another 'out of interest' When you call and are asked to do something which means hanging up, is any record put on file that you have been asked to do this? If not, it certainly should be. It would save the support and user having to go through everything again.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: I'm on 8mb broadband and downloading at 35kb/s max?!

      it'll usually be along the lines of 'asked customer to move to test socket, customer got disconnected'...

      whether the next agent actually reads this is anyone's guess...a lot of tier 1 agents abroad copy and paste notes for things not even done!!

      Prime example - 'EU cannot browse...disabled firewall...' you then ask the EU and they don't even use a firewall!!!

      You can see how people get annoyed with tier 1...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I'm on 8mb broadband and downloading at 35kb/s max?!

      Yes, and I bet there are some who don't even know that moving to the test socket causes a disconnection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: I'm on 8mb broadband and downloading at 35kb/s max?!

      it would seem that way!! but this is the issue with tier 1 abroad - they're not allowed to think for themselves at all!! it's literally follow script and thats it
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #20
      Momentum's Avatar
      Momentum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I'm on 8mb broadband and downloading at 35kb/s max?!

      Since' i'm not getting anywhere.

      Do you think it is a good idea for upgrading to 16mb? That theoretically would increase my speed? Or would I still be stuck at downloading at 30/kps

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION