Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Lots of errors?

    This is a discussion on Lots of errors? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hiya, i just rung sky up today basically due to the fact my connection would drop every 5 hours or ...

    1. #1
      jamiem1987's Avatar
      jamiem1987 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Barnsley
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Lots of errors?

      hiya, i just rung sky up today basically due to the fact my connection would drop every 5 hours or so, they capped my line to 14 mb which is fine but according to my router status page theres still errors building up. whether they wil cause the line to drop or not i dont know, its definitly less errors then when i was uncapped at 16mb. i am currently using a dlink DSL-2640B router, but the exact same happens with the original sky (old netgear) one,

      so are these stats any good now? ive been downloading about 8.7gb in the last hour since the router was rebooted when sky altered the speed so theres a lot of data come down:

      Connection Up Time : 2 hour, 57 min, 28 sec

      Mode: ADSL2+
      Line Coding: Trellis On
      Status: No Defect

      Downstream Upstream
      Rate (Kbps): 14333 765

      SNR Margin (dB): 13.2 12.0
      Attenuation (dB): 28.0 12.9
      Output Power (dBm): 12.8 0.0


      Super Frames: 664132 664130
      Super Frame Errors: 29 1
      RS Words: 86337266 11290210
      RS Correctable Errors: 30261 9
      RS Uncorrectable Errors: 332 N/A

      HEC Errors: 25 0
      OCD Errors: 1 0
      LCD Errors: 0 0
      Total Cells: 362426129 19457190
      Data Cells: 140112220 4885088
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      Total ES: 8 1
      Total SES: 0 0
      Total UAS: 20 158

      thanks in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Devil_Spawn's Avatar
      Devil_Spawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      244
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lots of errors?

      we need the rest of the stats to see errors

    4. #3
      jamiem1987's Avatar
      jamiem1987 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Barnsley
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lots of errors?

      thats all the stats my dlink shows, il try digging the netgear router out and run that for a bit

    5. #4
      Devil_Spawn's Avatar
      Devil_Spawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      244
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lots of errors?

      aah right i was looking at it as if it were the netgear ones and skipped past the first part :P

      now ive looked at it a little more closely, you can see the SF (super frame errors) and they are very low. so there is no problem there.

      as for RS errors, im not too sure what it means, so you will need someone else to take a look at that

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Lots of errors?

      Errors building up on your line will not cause the connection to drop, only an increase in the error rate will cause this. If you have followed the advice in the Cable and Faceplate section of the forum to improve your wiring, sit tight and see how things go. If you have made no attempt to improve your wiring, it will pay you to do so.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      jamiem1987's Avatar
      jamiem1987 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Barnsley
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lots of errors?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Errors building up on your line will not cause the connection to drop, only an increase in the error rate will cause this. If you have followed the advice in the Cable and Faceplate section of the forum to improve your wiring, sit tight and see how things go. If you have made no attempt to improve your wiring, it will pay you to do so.

      ok, well recently ive disconnected all but 1 extension that goes to a bedroom, ive fitted a filtered masterplate from adsl nation and have the router plugged into the master socket, all has been well speed wise, it was fast as hell running at 16mbps, it hasnt disconnected now in 8 hours so i think the cap at 14 and half has cured this, il see if its stayed up all night in the morning (will be a first if it has!) heres the new stats

      Connection Up Time : 8 hour, 46 min, 19 sec

      Mode: ADSL2+
      Line Coding: Trellis On
      Status: No Defect

      Downstream Upstream
      Rate (Kbps): 14333 765

      SNR Margin (dB): 12.7 12.0
      Attenuation (dB): 28.0 12.9
      Output Power (dBm): 12.8 12.0


      Super Frames: 1961149 1961147
      Super Frame Errors: 31 1
      RS Words: 254949484 33339499
      RS Correctable Errors: 33515 9
      RS Uncorrectable Errors: 409 N/A

      HEC Errors: 27 0
      OCD Errors: 1 0
      LCD Errors: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1070328270 57238585
      Data Cells: 224612589 8227017
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      Total ES: 9 1
      Total SES: 0 0
      Total UAS: 20 158


      trouble is if it is stable at 14.5 then it gets me thinking, maybe it would be stable at 15? lol would be cheeky to ring them and ask to be uncapped that extra bit i guess

    8. #7
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lots of errors?

      Na it's not cheeky. Depending on the person you get through to they maybe able to help you

    9. #8
      jamiem1987's Avatar
      jamiem1987 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Darton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Barnsley
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Lots of errors?

      thanks all for your comments, after downloading about 20gb last night from newsgroups and constant downloads from torrents, it seems to be stable, heres the stats of this morning..

      Connection Up Time : 19 hour, 22 min, 13 sec

      Mode: ADSL2+
      Line Coding: Trellis On
      Status: No Defect

      Downstream Upstream
      Rate (Kbps): 14333 765

      SNR Margin (dB): 12.6 12.5
      Attenuation (dB): 28.0 12.9
      Output Power (dBm): 12.8 1.5


      Super Frames: 4323576 4323574
      Super Frame Errors: 37 1
      RS Words: 562064882 73500758
      RS Correctable Errors: 40548 9
      RS Uncorrectable Errors: 653 N/A

      HEC Errors: 34 0
      OCD Errors: 1 0
      LCD Errors: 0 0
      Total Cells: 2359639120 126248100
      Data Cells: 623600685 43445340
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      Total ES: 14 1
      Total SES: 0 0
      Total UAS: 20 158


      never seen the connection uptime as high as that!! might ring them up today and ask them if 15 mb would be ok, altho i think would it be worth it for the extra ~600kb

    10. #9
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Lots of errors?

      If your connection is o.k for your purposes, then leave well alone, for a while at least,

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION