Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    cr0.smba.uk.easynet.net pings me 3 times every 30 seconds

    This is a discussion on cr0.smba.uk.easynet.net pings me 3 times every 30 seconds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Can anybody shed any light onto this for me. I have noticed that I get a Type:11 Code:0 attack 3 ...

    1. #1
      stevvie's Avatar
      stevvie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey (SMBA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      cr0.smba.uk.easynet.net pings me 3 times every 30 seconds

      Can anybody shed any light onto this for me. I have noticed that I get a Type:11 Code:0 attack 3 times every 30 seconds from 82.108.10.182 which translates to cr0.smba.uk.easynet.net.
      thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: cr0.smba.uk.easynet.net pings me 3 times every 30 seconds

      The address is your telephone exchange. Why its happening haven't a clue.

    4. #3
      stevvie's Avatar
      stevvie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey (SMBA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: cr0.smba.uk.easynet.net pings me 3 times every 30 seconds

      does anybody know if sky have a technical help email address, as phoning them would only confuse the customer service staff.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: cr0.smba.uk.easynet.net pings me 3 times every 30 seconds

      KANA Form

      EDIT- Turn off Respond to ping in your WAN Settings, that may stop it.
      Last edited by Isitme; 11-07-08 at 10:11 PM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      stevvie's Avatar
      stevvie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey (SMBA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: cr0.smba.uk.easynet.net pings me 3 times every 30 seconds

      Respond to ping was already off, Thanks

    7. #6
      stevvie's Avatar
      stevvie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey (SMBA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: cr0.smba.uk.easynet.net pings me 3 times every 30 seconds

      It's now esculated to 3 every SECOND, 320000 yes thats three hundred and twenty thousand of them in a few days.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: cr0.smba.uk.easynet.net pings me 3 times every 30 seconds

      Are you sure this is ping attempts? ICMP is used to send error messages as well as for pinging. As you have the V1 router you could have a look at your detailed stats, to see if any errors are reported.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      stevvie's Avatar
      stevvie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey (SMBA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: cr0.smba.uk.easynet.net pings me 3 times every 30 seconds

      not strictly ping attempts, but traceroute. http://www.spirit.com/Network/net0700.html

    10. #9
      stevvie's Avatar
      stevvie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey (SMBA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: cr0.smba.uk.easynet.net pings me 3 times every 30 seconds

      Does Anybody know an email address for sky technical as customer services didn't have a clue what I was on about. They advised me to install mcaffee that cam with the router and that would stop it, I couldn't stop laughing at the man. He said he would pass it on, but I'm not holding my breath after thier answer was to install mcaffee.

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: cr0.smba.uk.easynet.net pings me 3 times every 30 seconds

      there isn't one direct...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION