Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 31

    LLU Speeds v. ADSL2 Speeds

    This is a discussion on LLU Speeds v. ADSL2 Speeds within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Yes that chart will give you a rough idea but at the end of the day it still boils down ...

    1. #11
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yes that chart will give you a rough idea but at the end of the day it still boils down to the line length and the line condition, I have heard of people being closer to the exchange getting worse speed that someone a lot further away for that very reason.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Ronni's Avatar
      Ronni is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas, EMSTBBS
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      75
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      CaptainK
      She told me regardless of what package I go for (MID or MAX), Currently, I won't achieve anything more than 3.1Mbps

    4. #13
      CaptainK's Avatar
      CaptainK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      OK, another question with regards to the estimate that Ronnie was given.

      When they estimate your speed, how do they do it?

      I assume they get the SNR and line length and estimate from there. But how do they get the figures? From a profile for your line at the exchange? In which case all the internal wiring (masses of it) at Ronnie's house and the fact that the DSL modem is not connected directly to the master socket has caused an inaccurate profile to be generated?

      Alternatively, Ronnie might just have a crap line!

      Though having said that, before Sky decided to gatecrash the broadband party, when Ronnie and I both checked our potential speeds on BT; mine has been estimated at different times as 2.3mb-2.5mb. Ronnies at the same times has always shown 2.5mb.

      Guessing here and could be talking absolute B******s but it would be nice to know what's going on.

    5. #14
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      When you call to place the order they run a line test and that tells them what the line is capable of and as far as I know its all built in so they agent you are speaking to just reads what the screen tells them.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #15
      CaptainK's Avatar
      CaptainK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      @ Wheelie

      The line test seems very quick - less than 5 seconds, if that. Hence my throught about them simply reading a profile from the exchange or wherever.

      Of course the profile would have been build up over a period of time, in much the same way as the base and mid-products require you to "train" the line and generate a "BRAS?" profile.

      Like I said, I'm guessing here and could be talking absolute B******s but it would be nice to know what's going on.

    7. #16
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yes the tests are very fast and I am sure (I think anyway) once they have confirmed the phone number with you they let the test start while they fill in the form with you.

      The only product that needs to be trained is Coonect as thats on the BT ISP Stream MAX Adsl all the other products are LLU thats how they are so cheap.

      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #17
      Unregistered's Avatar
      Unregistered Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      @CaptainK

      The line test Sky give you, is only up to BT's side of the Master Socket,
      from face plate outwards (extensions) is not tested, thats where most faults occur. not forsaking street lights / microwave ovens / TV's / Radio's / refrigerators / carpet tacks through cable !!,... the list is endless,

      you could be better off with a 2 coco tins and wet string

    9. #18
      Ronni's Avatar
      Ronni is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Barnabas, EMSTBBS
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      75
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @Wheelie

      I was on the understanding that the MAX Package is LLU
      And ALL the others (BASE, MID & CONNECT) are NON LLU

    10. #19
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      BASE, MID and MAX are LLU and CONNECT is IP Stream
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    11. #20
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Nope only Connect is BT ISP Stream all the rest are LLU not only that you can no longer get 2MB from BT.

      If you look at the flash page you will see they are grouped

      http://broadband.sky.com/flash.htm
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION