Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Basic start up questions from a non Sky user

    This is a discussion on Basic start up questions from a non Sky user within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Sorry people I'm sure this has all been done to death before but I'm investigating on behalf of a clueless ...

    1. #1
      Villageidiot's Avatar
      Villageidiot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Basic start up questions from a non Sky user

      Sorry people I'm sure this has all been done to death before but I'm investigating on behalf of a clueless newbie who's recently signed up to Sky Broadband but doesnt have a clue how it all works.

      Q1. His "box" is a wireless Sky modem/router but I'm not sure which as it has no manufacturers data on it. It's dark grey, slim and stands up with 4 ethernet ports. I'm assuming its a Sagem router is this standard issue for all newish Sky BB users ?

      Q2. If its a router (as I assume it is) what and how do I get to the software controlling it in order to check a number of issues ? I'm assuming that Sky has some form of protection built in to their wireless routers to obviate the need for a separate firewall on the PC/laptop ?

      Q3. He was advised to delete all other security software (i.e. anti virus etc before installing the Sky setup software. What does Sky offer in terms of protection/AV/Firewall ? It appears he has McAfee somewhere on his sytem but it doesnt start up with everything else and he has Zonelabs installed as his firewall. Surely as a newbie this whole process should be simple and straightforward. What are the AV and firewall defaults with the Sky setup and does he need a firewall or does the router provide that for him ?

      Q4. He has two laptops connected to the internet via his new Sky modem/router but only his laptop connects wirelessly to the web whereas hers wont connect at all wirelessly. Yet if we hardwire her laptop to the ethernet port it's OK. I've tried downloading Winsockfix on her machine but it didnt work.

      Sorry but I'm doing this all remotely so would appreciate not having to re invent the wheel here. So any thoughts on any one of these 4 issues (or if I'm really lucky all four) would be gratefully received.

      Many thanks

      VI


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Basic start up questions from a non Sky user

      1. The Phase 2 routers are the ones you described, and the manufacturer is on the bottom on the router (to the right of the barcodes) and is either by Sagem or Netgear.

      2. It is a 4-port ethernet and wireless router, with NAT built in and WPA encryption.

      3. Sky supply McAfee Security Suite (which a lot here don't like) free for a year, and having more than one on your PC is not recommended.

      4. No idea about the wireless issue, would assume he should reconnect the PCs making sure he uses the 'Network Key' on the bottom of the router - which is 8 capital letters long by default
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      Villageidiot's Avatar
      Villageidiot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Basic start up questions from a non Sky user

      Thanks for your quick response IANTE

      Please tell me more about

      "No idea about the wireless issue, would assume he should reconnect the PCs making sure he uses the 'Network Key' on the bottom of the router - which is 8 capital letters long by default"

      Bearing in mind I cant see this site, what are these Network Keys and why are they relevant in sign up ?

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Basic start up questions from a non Sky user

      Quote Originally Posted by Villageidiot View Post
      Q1. His "box" is a wireless Sky modem/router but I'm not sure which as it has no manufacturers data on it. It's dark grey, slim and stands up with 4 ethernet ports. I'm assuming its a Sagem router is this standard issue for all newish Sky BB users ?
      On the top of the router in the middle the manufacturer is stamped on it.

      Q2. If its a router (as I assume it is) what and how do I get to the software controlling it in order to check a number of issues ? I'm assuming that Sky has some form of protection built in to their wireless routers to obviate the need for a separate firewall on the PC/laptop ?
      http://192.168.0.1

      username: admin
      password: sky

      Will get you into the GUI - The router has a built in firewall - on by default for incoming traffic.

      Q3. He was advised to delete all other security software (i.e. anti virus etc before installing the Sky setup software. What does Sky offer in terms of protection/AV/Firewall ? It appears he has McAfee somewhere on his sytem but it doesnt start up with everything else and he has Zonelabs installed as his firewall. Surely as a newbie this whole process should be simple and straightforward. What are the AV and firewall defaults with the Sky setup and does he need a firewall or does the router provide that for him ?
      You don't need to install the CD unless you want McAffee installing.

      Q4. He has two laptops connected to the internet via his new Sky modem/router but only his laptop connects wirelessly to the web whereas hers wont connect at all wirelessly. Yet if we hardwire her laptop to the ethernet port it's OK. I've tried downloading Winsockfix on her machine but it didnt work.
      The wireless settings are in the GUI.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      Villageidiot's Avatar
      Villageidiot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Basic start up questions from a non Sky user

      "Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience"

      Thanks to both of you.

      "Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience" Present company excepted NewsreadeR

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION