Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Problems with Broadband with main computer, laptop ok though!???

    This is a discussion on Problems with Broadband with main computer, laptop ok though!??? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Since late last week been having problems with my main desktop logging onto broadband. Router seems fine and ethernet connection ...

    1. #1
      humfer's Avatar
      humfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Problems with Broadband with main computer, laptop ok though!???

      Since late last week been having problems with my main desktop logging onto broadband. Router seems fine and ethernet connection also seems fine from what I can tell. Open explorer and it just hangs for ages, before showing the 'page cannot be displayed' page

      Had thought it was something to do with the fact that Sky has only just started in Rugby (was on Connect before), but have just tried my wifes laptop and it seems fine

      Any ideas of what to check? Have been trying to keep a log of when its down. Down last friday, yesterday and tonight. But it was ok first thing this morning, so its hit and miss....

      Just read a few more posts and found it helps if I post my stats....

      System Up Time 00.27.39
      Port Status Tx Pkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 9001 10451 0 950 4925 00.26.55
      LAN 100M/Full 11319 9885 0 4896 1055 00.28.56
      WLAN 11M/54M 222 0 0 30 0 00.28.05
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1344kbps 160kbps
      Line Attenuation 63db 15.5db
      Noise margin 7db 7db
      Last edited by humfer; 09-07-08 at 08:02 PM. Reason: More info added


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Problems with Broadband with main computer, laptop ok though!???

      Just to confirm, when you have the issues, it is OK on your Wife's laptop?

      If so, that would suggest a problem with your PC. Make sure it is upto date with Anti Virus software and any malware scanners you may use.

      Also if you are using wireless on the PC, try using the ethernet connection.

      You could also try changing to OpenDNS to see if the issue is any better. You can only change the DNS settings within the NIC (Network Card) properties and not the router.

      More on Open DNS settings here.

      https://www.opendns.com/start

      Choose the computer option.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      humfer's Avatar
      humfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Broadband with main computer, laptop ok though!???

      Thanks for the quick reply. Yes as I type on my wifes laptop, desktop is currently having problems.

      Just amended my first message with the stats from the desktop if this shows any clues.......

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Problems with Broadband with main computer, laptop ok though!???

      Hi

      The stats should be exactly the same if you access from PC or Laptop.

      Try the OpenDNS thingy.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      humfer's Avatar
      humfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Broadband with main computer, laptop ok though!???

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Hi

      The stats should be exactly the same if you access from PC or Laptop.

      Try the OpenDNS thingy.
      Sorry if this sounds really stupid but what i OpenDNS? Do I choose the router option? Whats it actually do???

      Also desktop seems to work first thing in the morning but not a night which is odd. Also, it is using ethernet connection, which I have just checked has a permanent green light which I assume is ok

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Problems with Broadband with main computer, laptop ok though!???

      For some reason the PC is not responding etc, DNS is a way that the internet works. In simple words, when you type a URL into your browser, ie skyuser.co.uk then DNS tells your PC where to look on the internet to see our site. It changes the skyuser.co.uk into an IP address / location of our website, which then allows you to view it on your PC.

      The fact that your wife's Laptop is fine and suffers no issues, shows the issue is not with Sky BB, or they would both have the issues.

      OpenDNS is an alternative to using Sky's DNS (which is built into the router) and you would need to click on the link I gave above, and click on the Computer link, not the Router one, then follow the instructions. This may or may not solve the issue, its just one way of trouble shooting.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      humfer's Avatar
      humfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problems with Broadband with main computer, laptop ok though!???

      Ah ha....just seem to have fixed it by fluke.

      Remembered last week that I updated my zone alarm firewall so suspected that may have changed anything. Quickly turned it off and the internet immediately worked. Turned it to medium setting and still working. But as soon as go to high mode internet just hangs and eventually times out. How strange. Little worried that my computer is protected only for 'temporary' internet access. Not sure what you think

      Finally thankyou for the replys. Reply appreciate the help

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Problems with Broadband with main computer, laptop ok though!???





      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION