Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    New connection: Should I be getting faster speeds?

    This is a discussion on New connection: Should I be getting faster speeds? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've just migrated from BT Broadband (up to 8 meg) to the Max package. I'm approx 973 metres from our ...

    1. #1
      MonsterMunch's Avatar
      MonsterMunch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01209
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New connection: Should I be getting faster speeds?

      I've just migrated from BT Broadband (up to 8 meg) to the Max package.

      I'm approx 973 metres from our local exchange and the line attenuation rate is 27.0 db (which I'm led to believe is good, isn't it?) - so I was hoping that I'd see some speed improvement. Unfortunately, I seem to be getting roughly the same speeds I got with BT.

      PREVIOUSLY, WITH BT:
      Line rate: 7648 Kbps
      Line attenuation: 27.0 dB
      Noise Margin:7.0 dB

      WITH SKY:
      Connection speed: 7808 kbps
      Line attenuation: 27.0 dB
      Noise margin: 10.4 db

      These results don't seem to change if I plug the router directly into the master socket.

      Is there anything I can do to increase speeds?

      Perhaps someone who understands these stats a bit better could advise?

      Thank you
      Last edited by MonsterMunch; 08-07-08 at 10:18 PM.


      Approximately 973 metres from the exchange


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: New connection: Should I be getting faster speeds?

      G'day mate,

      With a line ATT of 27 you should be getting the 16MEG no problem. Could you try your test socket and report back with new stats?


    4. #3
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: New connection: Should I be getting faster speeds?

      I'd take a guess that mm is on gdmt ? A phone call to sky to be switched to adsl2+ should do the trick.


    5. #4
      MonsterMunch's Avatar
      MonsterMunch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01209
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New connection: Should I be getting faster speeds?

      Thanks for your quick replies guys.

      dholdi,
      Thank you - I had no idea about the gdmt / ADSL 2+ thing. I've requested a switch to ADSL 2+ using the contact form in the help centre section of Sky's website. If I don't hear back I'll give them a buzz.

      Monday,
      Unfortunately my master socket doesn't have a plate or test socket. However, the router is now plugged straight in to it.

      WITH SKY, FROM THE MASTER SOCKET:
      Connection speed: 7808 kbps
      Line attenuation: 27.0 dB
      Noise margin: 8.9 db

      The connect speed seems to stick at 7808 kbps so far.

      The line attenuation has always been 27.0 dB.

      The noise margin varies between 7.4 and 11.9, depending on the time of day and whether I'm trying out the router via my extension cable (which gives me around 7.4 to 8.9).


      Approximately 973 metres from the exchange

    6. #5
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New connection: Should I be getting faster speeds?

      Agree that you should get 16meg on ADSL2+, but your noise margin is a bit low. I know you do not have a test socket at your master, but have you tried removing the ring wire?
      To do this, open the socket you think is the master (it will contain three components fixed to the board if it is) and remove any wire or wires connected to the terminal marked 3.
      be careful not to disconnect any others.

    7. #6
      MonsterMunch's Avatar
      MonsterMunch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01209
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New connection: Should I be getting faster speeds?

      From the telephone wire coming in to my house, I have a white wire going into a terminal marked 2 and an orange wire going into 5. There are also two 'spare' wires (one black, one green) which aren't connected. Does that sound right?

      There was a master socket with an extra face plate/test socket when I moved in, but it was damp (the place was empty for some time) and causing crackles on the line, so I replaced it with a new one from my local electrical supplier. Do you think it might be worth trying a different one?
      Last edited by MonsterMunch; 09-07-08 at 11:33 AM.


      Approximately 973 metres from the exchange

    8. #7
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New connection: Should I be getting faster speeds?

      Yes, get yourself a NTE-5 master and replace your socket with that. The orange and white lines are correct, connect them to A and B of the new master socket.
      I should point out that you are not supposed to intefer with the master socket in this way as it is against BT T&C's but lots of people do.
      Last edited by Brian69; 09-07-08 at 11:55 AM.

    9. #8
      MonsterMunch's Avatar
      MonsterMunch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01209
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New connection: Should I be getting faster speeds?

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      I'd take a guess that mm is on gdmt ? A phone call to sky to be switched to adsl2+ should do the trick.
      Many thanks to dholdi. I've just come off a 20 minute call to Sky and my line speed has gone up considerably:

      Connection Speed 14422 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db

      Actual download speeds are currently showing as around 11 meg.
      Just need to work on that noise margin now...
      Last edited by MonsterMunch; 10-07-08 at 01:24 AM.


      Approximately 973 metres from the exchange

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION