Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Connection problems with new sky router

    This is a discussion on Connection problems with new sky router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi everone, This is my first post on this forum i got sky broadband about a month ago and have ...

    1. #1
      dimmock's Avatar
      dimmock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01509
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Connection problems with new sky router

      Hi everone,

      This is my first post on this forum

      i got sky broadband about a month ago and have constant connection problems since.

      The connection drops everytime the phone rings and i have bought new filters but still no change. Some times it just drops out of nowhere.

      Also my son has xbox live and has problems with the connection dropping when he is playing online.

      Really starting to annoy me now

      Any help would be great

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Connection problems with new sky router

      You need to post stats and then explain your current connection setup so people can see where the issue may lie. How many sockets are on your line, are filters in place where needed and do you have sky tv attached to the line still?

    4. #3
      dimmock's Avatar
      dimmock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01509
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection problems with new sky router

      System Up Time: 00:03:58
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 369 428 0 644 2490 00:02:26
      LAN 100M/Full 2739 1055 0 4363 903 00:03:54
      WLAN 11M/54M 1655 9 0 451 1 00:03:41
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8128 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 14 db 4 db
      Noise Margin 17 db 26 db

      one socket on line
      filter in line, with router then antoher filter on the phone connected to the main filter
      Last edited by dimmock; 07-07-08 at 08:52 PM.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Connection problems with new sky router

      you don't need 2 filters...just the one with modem on the modem side and phone on the phone side...your stats show nothing wrong at all, so chances are it's the setup your end...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Connection problems with new sky router

      Can you explain where the filters are please as IANTE is right you should only one filter in use if there is only one socket on the wall.

    7. #6
      dimmock's Avatar
      dimmock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01509
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection problems with new sky router

      its just a got told by sky to put a filter on the end of everthing e.g phone, modem , sky etc

    8. #7
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Connection problems with new sky router

      If you have one socket you should just have one filter directly onto the socket, in that on the ADSL side you have your router plugged in and into the telephone side you plug everything else like Sky TV, telephone etc.

    9. #8
      dimmock's Avatar
      dimmock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01509
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection problems with new sky router

      my biggest problem is the internet cuts out every time the phone rings

    10. #9
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Connection problems with new sky router

      Which points to a couple of possibilities, filter issues being one. Have you got Sky tv on the line and is the filter the first thing on the socket?

    11. #10
      dimmock's Avatar
      dimmock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01509
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection problems with new sky router

      yes the filter is the first thing on the socket, with the sky tv then phone in and then the modem on the other side

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION