Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    No Dial Tone - BT Rather Than Sky BB?

    This is a discussion on No Dial Tone - BT Rather Than Sky BB? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; This morning I'e found that our BT line has no dial tone (only a lot of crackling). Would I be ...

    1. #1
      westv's Avatar
      westv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chelmsford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      No Dial Tone - BT Rather Than Sky BB?

      This morning I'e found that our BT line has no dial tone (only a lot of crackling). Would I be correct in saying that I need to report this to BT and that it has nothing to do with Sky BB.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      john5197's Avatar
      john5197 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Astley Bridge
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy

      Would suggest report to BT, sounds like a line fault....

    4. #3
      westv's Avatar
      westv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chelmsford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks. That's what I thought. I just wasn't sure if the Sky BB might have affected it. I'll report it now.

    5. #4
      sav's Avatar
      sav
      sav is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brixton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi westv


      This too happend to me when BT where enabling my Sky ADSL Line they messed something at the exchange so I had no dial tone for 2 days. They sent an Engineer round to the exchange to solve the mess up. Good old BT


      Sav


    6. #5
      westv's Avatar
      westv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chelmsford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just reported it to BT. Their system seems to show a fault on the BT network and, after speaking to someone, it appears it could be break in the line between me and the exchange. As there's nothing happening outside, I can only assume that someone has been doing some digging up somewhere else. Expected to be repaired by Saturday. Saturday? That's ages away. Don't they know I need my BB fix each evening! - Online at work at the moment.

    7. #6
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      @westv

      They did the same thing to me as well and I had a total loss of service form the 7th to the 12th Sep and they are even trying to bill me 55 for there mess up. I am really starting to get annoyed with BT
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #7
      westv's Avatar
      westv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chelmsford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Seems our neighbours are fine. Hmmm.

    9. #8
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Sorry I think you misunderstood me this was due to BT changing me over to LLU and as such only affected my line nobody else's.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    10. #9
      westv's Avatar
      westv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chelmsford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Oh sorry. I was just making a general comment.
      Now I'm home I see that BB is working fine. Most strange! Better update the fault page on the BT site with that info. Also, my wife says that the phone was ringing her end when I called her but that she couldn't hear anything when she picked it up. At my end it just rang and rang.
      Seems like the problem has nothing to do with BB.
      Last edited by Wheelie; 21-09-06 at 07:40 PM. Reason: Please do not quote the preceding post. Please use QUOTE sparingly if you wish to aim a reply at a user then please use @User Name this helps us to keep the forum tidy and posts more compact. Thanks

    11. #10
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      NP mate

      Glad to hear you are now connected how is it?
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION