Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    up to 256 Kb???

    This is a discussion on up to 256 Kb??? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey everyone, Its my first post but have been lurking for a few weeks. I've just had my BT line ...

    1. #1
      brido's Avatar
      brido is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      up to 256 Kb???

      Hey everyone,

      Its my first post but have been lurking for a few weeks.

      I've just had my BT line activated (moved from cable) and went to sign up for sky broadband and the website says...

      Broadband Base, Mid, Max are available via your BT landline number. Your phone line can support download speeds of up to 256 Kb.

      Surely that cant be right, can it?

      I know there are loads of factors that determine your speed but that seems shocking. Samknows says Im 2.3km from my exchange, 3.38km by road. Could it be because my number just transfered from cable today, the systems are still being "updated"


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Devil_Spawn's Avatar
      Devil_Spawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      244
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: up to 256 Kb???

      i dont think it is that the systems are being updated, a better guess would be that it simply has not been tested so they stick that value in.

      having said that, you do have a very long phone line, so that might be the best you can get.

    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: up to 256 Kb???

      Will need to post a set of stats, (attenuation, SNR etc) for anyone to be able to see what is going on but it may just be that the details are not on the system yet for the line or it has tested badly.
      Are you on your main socket, do you have a test socket available to use and is there anything else on the line?

    5. #4
      brido's Avatar
      brido is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: up to 256 Kb???

      How would i get line stats? (I've not yet signed up to an ADSL provider)

      I've got an XTE-2005 fitted to the master socket with nothing connected at the moment
      Last edited by brido; 04-07-08 at 04:08 PM.

    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: up to 256 Kb???

      You can't get stats without a router on the line so what numbers do you get here:
      ::. Kitz - ADSL line and exchange checker .::
      Oh and the line needs to be active 5 days before you can go with ADSL so you may just be seeing the database showing dead info.

    7. #6
      brido's Avatar
      brido is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: up to 256 Kb???

      Do I need to wait 5 days before making an order for adsl, or just 5 days before hooking it up?

      I was planning to order it this weekend, as connection takes around 10 days...

    8. #7
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: up to 256 Kb???

      5 days before you can order otherwise the database will not be updated by BT and you will either get told the number is not on system or you can only get that speed.

    9. #8
      dsldude's Avatar
      dsldude is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: up to 256 Kb???

      Thats not always true, in my case my line went active at 2pm
      and by 6pm my line was coming back as a active BT line on the
      availability checker site

      in most cases 24hrs max should be enough for your number to populated
      in the BT database,

      unless the OP has cable in their area, then best they can do is order BB and
      keep fingers crossed it will run faster then 256k which unless there line is over
      5-6km it should do.

    10. #9
      brido's Avatar
      brido is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0141
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: up to 256 Kb???

      thansk for the replys, sky website now showing my speed as 4.5mb

      Think I will give them a call and place an order, I would be happy with that for a fiver a month!

    11. #10
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: up to 256 Kb???

      Cool looks like the system updated properly then lol

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION