Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Help please, can I do Better

    This is a discussion on Help please, can I do Better within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Well first off, this is one of my first post so be nice lol, This is the link to my ...

    1. #1
      mike_dyson13's Avatar
      mike_dyson13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Help please, can I do Better

      Well first off, this is one of my first post so be nice lol, This is the link to my speed results,


      System Up Time 81:14:03
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 182648 236990 0 143 796 81:13:00
      LAN 10M/100M 14021 0 0 8 0 81:14:00
      WLAN 11M/54M 250247 185839 0 814 156 81:13:52

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41.0 db 26.5 db
      Noise Margin 10.9 db 14.0 db

      Hope this is everthing you need to get an idea of whats going on, do you think i could get it quicker, by the way we collect via wireless built in to our laptop, am i supposed to of updated my router etc, any help welcomed, im on the mid package

      cheers mike


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Help please, can I do Better

      try wired...chances are it's a wireless issue as you're at full sync for Mid...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      mike_dyson13's Avatar
      mike_dyson13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please, can I do Better

      oh well lol, time to find a ethernet cable lol, the missus wont be happy lol, cheers mate

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Help please, can I do Better

      it might just need the chaneel changing so maybe that is a better first step, lol...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      mike_dyson13's Avatar
      mike_dyson13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please, can I do Better

      Hi, thanks for your response, im on channel 1, is it just a matter of changing the number, any reccomendations to what channel to try, how many channels are ther, how do i tell which is best, change the channel and keep doing a speed test?/
      many thanks

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Help please, can I do Better

      first step would be, try the other end of the spectrum (13) and see what happens. also, might wanna download netstumbler and check which channels aren't being used...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      mike_dyson13's Avatar
      mike_dyson13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please, can I do Better

      lol will do, that program doesnt support my adaptor, but will try messing with the channels abit, many thanks

    9. #8
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please, can I do Better

      11 is usually the best channel....

     

     

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION