Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Finally Activated But....

    This is a discussion on Finally Activated But.... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; After what seemed like a lifetime I have finally been connected. It has been exactly 7 days after my activation ...

    1. #1
      GraphicLounge.co.uk's Avatar
      GraphicLounge.co.uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation Finally Activated But....

      After what seemed like a lifetime I have finally been connected. It has been exactly 7 days after my activation date.

      I can get online with wires but not through wireless connectivity.
      When I enter the WEP/Network ID windows does not accept it.

      Is anyone else having this problem?

      I called up SKY technical support but they didn't have a clue whatsoever.
      The guy kept telling me that I should conntact my wireless ccard manufacturer.
      I told him many times that it wasnt a hardware issue but he refused to help me.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      vishal's Avatar
      vishal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton Road (LWKROA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      NW London
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      have you changed the wifi settings from when you got the router?
      if not it will be on wpa.

      to change it login to the router at 192.168.0.1 admin/sky and change the wireless settings.

    4. #3
      Unregistered's Avatar
      Unregistered Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Try turning off the security for a while and try connecting. If you can then connect you may have something wrong with the WEP settings on the PC.
      Wireless networks can be a real pain to setup and keep a strong signal.

    5. #4
      GraphicLounge.co.uk's Avatar
      GraphicLounge.co.uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I will try that when I get home tonight. Thanks for you time guys.

    6. #5
      Amaboknaai's Avatar
      Amaboknaai is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01276 Camberley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Copped Hall
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      When your security is ON, it is not WEP, but WPA - Personal....this is critical to getting it to work.

      What type of wireless card are you using, since if it is an old card, it might not support 802.11b / g with WPA, but only 802.11b with WEP. In this instance, you need to get the latest drivers / firmware from the card manufacturer, if they have released a feature set that will support this protocol. If not, then a trip to purchase a compatible WiFi card will be required.

    7. #6
      GraphicLounge.co.uk's Avatar
      GraphicLounge.co.uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I have a sony Laptop and it came with a standard 802.11b Wireless card. Am not sure if it supports WPA though. Is there any easy way to check if its WPA compatible?

    8. #7
      Tyland's Avatar
      Tyland is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Maidstone, Kent
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Surely he doesn't need new equipment; just advice on setting up. I understand that the router supports both WPA and WEP.

      There is a "sticky" but I don't know how to direct you...sorry

    9. #8
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      You are correct Tyland and the post that GraphicLounge.co.uk wants is here Good news and instructions on WEP settings (XP) for help to setup WEP.

      @GraphicLounge.co.uk
      Have a look at the Sony website there could be updated drivers for the Wireless card if they supplied it if not then goto the card makes site and see whats available there.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION