Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    What is the maximum speed my line can have?

    This is a discussion on What is the maximum speed my line can have? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am currently on the base level (2meg) and have 54db line attenuation and 13 ot 14bd SNRusing a Netgear ...

    1. #1
      davethebb's Avatar
      davethebb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01233
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Pluckley
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      What is the maximum speed my line can have?

      I am currently on the base level (2meg) and have 54db line attenuation and 13 ot 14bd SNRusing a Netgear router. My question is will my line hold a 8meg upagrade or higher?
      Thanks, Dave.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: What is the maximum speed my line can have?

      Sorry with a line attentuation of 54d you should be able to obtain a speed of approxiamatly 4.5 mg. I note that your noise margin is high can you post some stats and let us know how you are connected to the telephone line , ie hard wired or wireless extentions? and are you connected to the master or test socket

      Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky! How to get your router statistics

    4. #3
      davethebb's Avatar
      davethebb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01233
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Pluckley
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What is the maximum speed my line can have?

      Postman Pat, I am hard wired via a std. BT plug into the master socket. Can you advise what line stats you require and the best way of posting. I am able to obtain the basic stats easy but am unsure how to post them. Thanks Dave.

    5. #4
      davethebb's Avatar
      davethebb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01233
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Pluckley
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What is the maximum speed my line can have?

      Sorry, I forgot to add that I am connected wirelessly.Dave.

    6. #5
      davethebb's Avatar
      davethebb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01233
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Pluckley
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What is the maximum speed my line can have?

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 8 6 0 5 2 00:01:10
      LAN 10M/100M 19662 6807 0 79 18 11:35:43
      WLAN 11M/54M 78910 66683 0 1785 583 07:18:10



      Postman Pat,
      I have just figured out how to post my stats - please see below.
      Dave.
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2047 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.0 db 36.1 db
      Noise Margin 13.0 db 13.5 db

    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: What is the maximum speed my line can have?

      Use this utility to get your full detailed stats and repost.
      Detailed stats can be got from the new V1 firmware (V1.03.87)
      With the high NM I would suspect youve been capped because of line errors - the detailed stats will show.
      Ps - Wired will give a better connection between your pc and router, but it wont effect your sync with the exchange.


    8. #7
      davethebb's Avatar
      davethebb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01233
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Pluckley
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What is the maximum speed my line can have?

      I have the following stats. One thing to note is that I have just re-wired the master socket this morning and this resulted in the SNR going from 6 to 13 - I used the router stats while I was disconnecting and reconnecting to indicate where the bad connection was was and hence there may be a diffference in todays readings (if required I can post the same tommorow to give a true picture if it would help). I trust the following makes sense to you. Dave.

      dholdUptime 44158.90 43408.15
      Wan up 41676.08 40940.03
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 1
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 412 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2047 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 12.9 14.0
      Attn(dB): 54.0 36.1
      Pwr(dBm): 14.0 12.8
      Max(Kbps): 4644 516
      Rate (Kbps): 2047 412
      G.dmt framing
      K: 32(0) 13
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 60 70
      B: 31 12
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4923 7.4418
      L: 780 129
      D: 64 4
      Counters
      SF: 880255 841236
      SFErr: 144 36
      RS: 116193720 3384683
      RSCorr: 24277 80
      RSUnCorr: 8045 0

      HEC: 111 41
      OCD: 48 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 69055828 13923069
      Data Cells: 601642 239765
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 246 18
      SES: 78 0
      UAS: 2149 41
      AS: 14301

      INP: 5.25 1.98
      PER: 16.24 17.67
      delay: 7.87 7.44
      OR: 32.50 34.40

      Bitswap: 10 286

      Total time = 12 hours 15 min 58 sec
      SF = 2524889
      CRC = 8292
      LOS = 114
      LOF = 90
      ES = 246
      Latest 1 day time = 12 hours 15 min 58 sec
      SF = 2524889
      CRC = 8292
      LOS = 114
      LOF = 90
      ES = 246
      Latest 15 minutes time = 58 sec
      SF = 3581
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55379
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55440
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55379
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55440
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Showtime Drop Reason: 1
      Last Retrain Reason: i,

    9. #8
      Devil_Spawn's Avatar
      Devil_Spawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      244
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What is the maximum speed my line can have?

      the utility shows you can reach around 4.5mbit, however there are errors on the line, so i suggest you take a look in the cabling and faceplate section of the forum, and get the router into the test socket

    10. #9
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: What is the maximum speed my line can have?

      Quote Originally Posted by davethebb View Post
      One thing to note is that I have just re-wired the master socket this morning and this resulted in the SNR going from 6 to 13
      Thats a pointer, whats the NM in the test socket ( behind the master ).


    11. #10
      davethebb's Avatar
      davethebb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01233
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Pluckley
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What is the maximum speed my line can have?

      Hi Guys, I have rewired some of my inetrnal wiring (still more to do) and my SNR ratio has inreased. can any one tell me by comparing the prevous line stats to the ones below if there is any improvement (perhaps you would be kippp0 Link encap:Point-Point Protocol
      inet addr:90.199.151.251 P-t-P:195.189.159.123 Mask:255.255.255.255
      UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
      RX packets:122071 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
      TX packets:76807 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
      collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
      RX bytes:113817119 (108.5 MiB) TX bytes:17669143 (16.8 MiB)

      Uptime 354179.24 353762.33
      Wan up 88.46 77.82
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 412 Kbps, Downstream rate = 2047 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.5 15.5
      Attn(dB): 54.5 36.1
      Pwr(dBm): 15.5 12.8
      Max(Kbps): 3520 516
      Rate (Kbps): 2047 412
      G.dmt framing
      K: 32(0) 13
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 60 70
      B: 31 12
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4923 7.4418
      L: 780 129
      D: 64 4
      Counters
      SF: 21799145 20832577
      SFErr: 2324 246
      RS: 2877487198 1202037
      RSCorr: 3022974 1034
      RSUnCorr: 53365 0

      HEC: 1889 478
      OCD: 472 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1710173172 344796489
      Data Cells: 2477697 461211
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 1292 105
      SES: 1 0
      UAS: 14 21813
      AS: 354154

      INP: 5.25 1.98
      PER: 16.24 17.67
      delay: 7.87 7.44
      OR: 32.50 34.40

      Bitswap: 2003 6564

      Total time = 1 days 2 hours 22 min 58 sec
      SF = 21799145
      CRC = 2324
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1292
      Latest 1 day time = 2 hours 22 min 58 sec
      SF = 528043
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Latest 15 minutes time = 7 min 58 sec
      SF = 29511
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55317
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5318146
      CRC = 68
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 21
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55440
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55379
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55440
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Showtime Drop Reason: 0
      Last Retrain Reason: 0

      nd enough and letme know what to look for in he stats. Thanks Dave.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION