Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    Sky Broadband Connect -How long does it take for speed to reach max?

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband Connect -How long does it take for speed to reach max? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; New to forums, and just got sky bb connect. The activation date is mean to be tommorow but i got ...

    1. #1
      gamez4life's Avatar
      gamez4life is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Broadband Connect -How long does it take for speed to reach max?

      New to forums, and just got sky bb connect.

      The activation date is mean to be tommorow but i got it working today.

      Setup was fine but my speed is only 288kb right now.

      Im wondering if i wait till tommorow will the speed increase alot or is there a 10 day period or something you need to wait for your speed to increase, im atleast expecting 3000kb what do you think?

      here are my stats?


      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 2:12:15
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 56007 81484 0 0 0 0:45:37
      LAN 14401 9992 0 0 0 2:12:15
      WLAN 80019 56923 0 0 0 2:11:53
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 288 kbps 288 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53.0 db 29.5 db
      Noise Margin 30.0 db 21.0 db
      Poll Interval: (secs)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Connect -How long does it take for speed to reach max?

      Best get your router off the line till the activation date proper before it locks onto the test config that is currently on the router. If not you will then have to wait 10 days for the "training period" to end before you can get through to CST to get the line config re-done.

    4. #3
      gamez4life's Avatar
      gamez4life is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Connect -How long does it take for speed to reach max?

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Best get your router off the line till the activation date proper before it locks onto the test config that is currently on the router. If not you will then have to wait 10 days for the "training period" to end before you can get through to CST to get the line config re-done.
      its been on for 5 hours now, is it to late didnt read this till now? thanks?

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Connect -How long does it take for speed to reach max?

      you're on the wrong dsl product - you'll be on Home/Office 250 so need to get to CST to regrade the line...good luck seeing as you're in your first 10 days so sod's law tier 1 will tell you to go away
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Connect -How long does it take for speed to reach max?

      Not always, I've sent this kind of call through, just takes a bit more effort and a bit more savvy and the tier 1's part. If you recognise that the line speed is totally wrong for a reason then you are half way there. Best thing the OP can do is ring up and tell them that his connection is configured for the wrong package and then just hope he gets someone that doesn't mind looking past the initial 10 day training issue.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Connect -How long does it take for speed to reach max?

      I agree, but I doubt most tier 1 agents in the non-UK call centres would realise this...ingers crossed to OP gets an agent who knows the signs and will put it through...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Connect -How long does it take for speed to reach max?

      If not could Kana it?

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Connect -How long does it take for speed to reach max?

      If you really are on Connect, then Read This article from Plusnet. It is a guide to using ADSLMax, giving advice on how to get the best out of your connection. You will get no advice whatsoever from Sky, who do not seem to realize that Connect is completely different from LLU. This excludes some of the Sky workers who contribute to the forum, they are mostly clued up

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      gamez4life's Avatar
      gamez4life is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      83
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Connect -How long does it take for speed to reach max?

      well thespeeds still 288 today and its meant ot be activated today.

      Can someplease please tell me what to do dont really understand what the other posts are saying? Am i on the worng broadband? Im supposed to be on connect ye?

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Connect -How long does it take for speed to reach max?

      As one of our Sky bod contributors says, you appear to be on the wrong package. You will have to phone Sky and get past tier 1 to the proper customer support team. Probably the best way to do this is to complain of very slow speed and go through the check up motions with T1. When they eventually discover they cannot help they will pass you to the CST or raise a ticket on your behalf. If they do raise a ticket, make sure you get the number for future reference. With a bit of luck, you will get a UK based T1 agent, maybe even one who contributes here, who is more likely to understand that you are on the wrong package and make arrangements with BT to have you transferred.

      You may be told that they can do nothing for 10 days, while your line is training. Try to explain as politely and forcibley as you can that you are on the wrong package and waiting 10 days is not an option.

      In the meantime have a good read of the article in my other post above, it will really help, especially the part about the first 10 days.

      If you are still not clear, post back, the forum members will do all they can to help.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION