Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Speed issues - Help Needed!

    This is a discussion on Speed issues - Help Needed! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Seem to be having some issues with my connection speed especially the upstream. Logged a fault with Sky but ...

    1. #1
      sl1mboyfat's Avatar
      sl1mboyfat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speed issues - Help Needed!

      Hi

      Seem to be having some issues with my connection speed especially the upstream. Logged a fault with Sky but they are unable to put me through to their 2nd line support as their systems are down!

      Problems seemed to have started since my V1 router died and replaced with the new Netgear. The original router would connect at 8000kps and I could normally download at around 5500kps. I have been through the normal checks to eliminate the internal wiring and filters etc. Sky have also advised that I'm not on the DLM testing.

      Any advice would be appreciated.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5728 kbps 160 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37 db 10 db
      Noise Margin 12 db 7 db
      Last edited by sl1mboyfat; 20-06-08 at 08:29 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      godofyouall's Avatar
      godofyouall is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed issues - Help Needed!

      What! their systems are still down? I phoned them around this time yesterday and was told the same thing. I am starting to think that it is being used as an excuse as they just can't be bothered to help. Either that or the DLM testing is screwing them too. LOL
      Last edited by godofyouall; 20-06-08 at 08:13 PM.

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Speed issues - Help Needed!

      Quote Originally Posted by sl1mboyfat View Post

      Any advice would be appreciated.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5728 kbps 160 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37 db 10 db
      Noise Margin 12 db 7 db
      Those stats show that you are very probably capped. If so then only Sky can uncap you, no amount of fiddling with wiring/filters will change that. That said, a low upstream is usually indicative of a line fault (wiring/filters/BT line) which may be why Sky have capped you.

      Try a comparison with your test socket (hidden inside your master if you have a NTE5). If the upstream rises (the downstream probably won't - the nm may) then you do have a wiring problem.

    5. #4
      sl1mboyfat's Avatar
      sl1mboyfat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed issues - Help Needed!

      Stats are no different if plugged into the NT5!

      It may be a coincidence but the caller line identity has also stopped working on the line, around the 18th. This has been logged with BT, they checked the line remotely but could not find a problem. They are continuing to look at the CLI problem but I had hoped that if they found an issue and fixed it this would sort out my speed issue.

      With ref to my stats what sort of speed should I be running at? Should I be on adsl2+?

      Thanks

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Speed issues - Help Needed!

      Quote Originally Posted by sl1mboyfat View Post
      Stats are no different if plugged into the NT5!
      Do you mean the test socket or have you just plugged into the front of the master?

      If your upstream speed doesn't change when plugged into the test socket then that probably indicates a fault - either with the BT line or the filter/cable/router. Your upstream (unlike your downstream) has not been capped by Sky (ref the noise margin).

      Your attenuation shows you are borderline for ADSL2+ benefit. I suggest you get to the bottom of what the connection problem is first.

    7. #6
      sl1mboyfat's Avatar
      sl1mboyfat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed issues - Help Needed!

      From the test socket under the faceplate. BT have called back this morning to advise that they cannot find any problem with my line. Although the CLI is still not working. I guess I need to wait on Sky to see what they find. I guess it could be the router as this has just been replaced.

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Speed issues - Help Needed!

      Quote Originally Posted by sl1mboyfat View Post
      I guess it could be the router as this has just been replaced.
      Maybe - when I've seen 160kbps reported before as the upstream each time it has turned out to be a filter problem e.g. faulty, missing (from phone extension/digibox etc) or incorrectly fitted (e.g. filter then extension then router).

      Does CLI work with the router disconnected i.e. just a phone in the master?
      Last edited by Saturday; 21-06-08 at 03:47 PM.

    9. #8
      sl1mboyfat's Avatar
      sl1mboyfat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed issues - Help Needed!

      Decided to try another filter and change the cable from the adsl port on the router to the telephone socket.

      Stats now read as follows.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5728 kbps 544 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37 db 10 db
      Noise Margin 12 db 14 db

      CLI has now returned on the line! The speed is still now where near what is was before the router was changed but better than it has been. Im gonna change the filters around again and change the cable back over to see if the speed drops.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed issues - Help Needed!

      The consistent 5728 connection speed and 12 NM seems to indicate that you have been capped.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Speed issues - Help Needed!

      Yes, that was established earlier in the thread. The issue now resolved is the low upstream/broken CLI which, as suspected, was a filter/wiring issue.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION