Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Speeds slowing down

    This is a discussion on Speeds slowing down within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Morning all, Got connected yesterday & was happily downloading around 5.5meg for a couple of hours then it slowed right ...

    1. #1
      Cockney's Avatar
      Cockney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley, Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speeds slowing down

      Morning all,

      Got connected yesterday & was happily downloading around 5.5meg for a couple of hours then it slowed right down to around 1.5 then this morning was around 800k, is there anything i can do about this ?

      Many thanks,
      Steve

      ps: I'm on the mid package


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Ratti3's Avatar
      Ratti3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Brighton, UK
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      reboot the router from the console, your SNR has dropped. Mine used to do that a lot but seems stable now

    4. #3
      Cockney's Avatar
      Cockney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley, Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks again Ratti, how do i do that

      I would be seriously lost without this site
      Last edited by Ratti3; 21-09-06 at 09:21 AM. Reason: Quote removed as you are replying to previous post :)

    5. #4
      Ratti3's Avatar
      Ratti3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Brighton, UK
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      go here: http://192.168.0.1

      login as admin password:sky

      click on diagnostics > reboot

      you can check your current SNR under router status

    6. #5
      Cockney's Avatar
      Cockney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley, Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Will do that when i get home tonight, many thanks again Ratti

    7. #6
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      You can also set your router up so you can check on it form else where by using the Remote Management in the router but make sure you change the routers default password and if you have a static IP at work only allow that access, then you can spy on it at anytime

      Oh forgot as you have a dynamic IP you need to goto http://www.dyndns.com/ and setup a domain name that you use and add the details to the Dynamic DNS settings in the router as well so your IP will always resolve.
      Last edited by Wheelie; 21-09-06 at 10:07 AM.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    8. #7
      Cockney's Avatar
      Cockney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley, Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by Ratti3 View Post
      go here: http://192.168.0.1

      login as admin password:sky

      click on diagnostics > reboot

      you can check your current SNR under router status
      Cheers Ratti,

      Just did a pre test on adslguide & got 1.5 download, reebooted & did the test again & got 5.3..

      Many thanks again for your invaluable help.

      Steve

    9. #8
      englishwhistler's Avatar
      englishwhistler is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Sorry - whats SNR?

      When I shut down my PC at 4 o'clock and went to turn it on again at 8pm, I couldn't connect to the net and had to reboot the router. Anyway I can stop this from happening?

    10. #9
      nifts's Avatar
      nifts is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      check out this site really good maybe explain some things to ya

      http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/linestats.htm

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION