Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Slow/web pages cant load

    This is a discussion on Slow/web pages cant load within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; the past week I have been having issues with my sky BB For the first time since I had it ...

    1. #1
      firehawk's Avatar
      firehawk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      328
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow/web pages cant load

      the past week I have been having issues with my sky BB For the first time since I had it installed last year (exactly a year).

      I used to have 12MB connection, now just past this week dropped to 10MB and I cannot access some webpages and cannot sign in on MSN either. Funny thing is, it works great using my wireless laptop but using my wired PC (main computer), it has these problems.

      I rang up sky and they said they are doing some upgrade work? Is this true? I am based in the Berkshire area.

      I woke up last week to find that my modem was flashing amber pretty fast, seemed like the firmware was being flashed? I then took out the power cable and put it back in after a minute. And since then, still having the problems - actually happened after this.

      any ideas?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Slow/web pages cant load

      Have a look in this forum at the first and third threads for all things DLM related:

      Sky news and announcements

    4. #3
      Darzo's Avatar
      Darzo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NIGGY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Location
      belfast
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow/web pages cant load

      i currently work for sky broadband and it does sound like a DLM problem but your speed will increase again after 10 days as long AS YOU LEAVE YOUR ROUTER TURNED ON until it is finished. but i will tell u that it will get every1s line so u have nothing to worry about.

    5. #4
      godofyouall's Avatar
      godofyouall is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow/web pages cant load

      Yeah it may have helped if sky informed their customers as these DLM problems are actually killing peoples connections like it has with mine. I have gone from 2mb to a very unstable 256kbps connection. Maybe people would know to keep their ROUTER TURNED ON if they were informed about it before hand. With connections dying the first thing you are going to try to do is reset the router or at least turn it off for a period of time. Even when I contacted the sky broadband helpdesk I was not informed of these ongoing DLM issues, I was just told to wait 72 hours for a call back. I had to come to this forum to find out about this.
      Last edited by godofyouall; 18-06-08 at 01:27 AM.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow/web pages cant load

      firehawk

      If you were getting 12Mb, I take it your profile is wrong, as you would never get that on Connect. You must be on Max.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION