Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Upload sync speed.

    This is a discussion on Upload sync speed. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi , been on Sky mid for a week now and the upload sync speed seems to be a bit ...

    1. #1
      dickster's Avatar
      dickster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01424
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Upload sync speed.

      Hi , been on Sky mid for a week now and the upload sync speed seems to be a bit on the low side.
      Does it need attention.
      Stats below.
      Modulation: G.992.1 Annex A
      Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 384 / 5,760
      Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 4.23 / 27.02
      Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 0.5 / 19.5
      Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 28.0 / 48.0
      SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 14.0 / 5.5
      Not the best of lines.
      Are ther any improvements to be made.
      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Upload sync speed.

      your upspeed looks correct for the mid package

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Upload sync speed.

      Yes, older connections on Mid were set to 416, new ones all seem to be 384. Once again Sky have excelled in explaining why this should be so

      I think they forget that some users want/need a higher upload speed. I don't think they quote a figure for expected upload speed, unlike download, so probably nothing much can be done.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upload sync speed.

      it is in the small print what upload speeds you get...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Upload sync speed.

      Yes, I have just noticed it in the sales blurb. 400 for Mid and 768 for Max. They of course cover themselves by making out it is an 'up to' figure, which I don't think really applies to the same extent as download. There are a great number of users with a poor download and 416,448, 764 or 768 upload. Why should all new Mid connections be set to 384 when they are advertising 400? Nit picking I know, but isn't Sky just making another rod for their own back.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upload sync speed.

      MOST profiles are set to 400, it's the exchange equipment that decides whether it rounds up to 416 or 384...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      dickster's Avatar
      dickster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01424
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upload sync speed.

      O well , could be worse.
      Coming from Bt my download speed has gone up, and my upload speed has gone down.
      whats the upload speed on max.

    9. #8
      LooieENG's Avatar
      LooieENG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Upload sync speed.

      768kbps (my router says 796 though)

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Upload sync speed.

      ^ you're going through DLM at present, which ould attribute to your speed issues in your other thread...

      have a read of THIS
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION