Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    Not sure what else can be done!!!

    This is a discussion on Not sure what else can be done!!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Good Afternoon all. Have just joined this forum as it seems a good place to research and find out about ...

    1. #1
      virgin747's Avatar
      virgin747 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tuxford
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Not sure what else can be done!!!

      Good Afternoon all. Have just joined this forum as it seems a good place to research and find out about similar problems that other sky users are having.

      I am, and have been suffering with erractic speeds over the last 3/4 months. I am on the connect package and have been told that speeds around 6-7 meg would be easlily acheived. However i have had speeds as low as



      and as high as



      My setup is as follows, router connected wirelessly, filters in all telephone sockets, i am using the netgear sky router DG834Gt with firmware V1.03.87 ( have reset my router to it's original spec).
      Here are my stats from my router page


      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023b.d20e
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 7616 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 448 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38




      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 15014 19227 0 1140 10743 00:36:54
      LAN 10M/100M 5041 0 0 49 0 12:46:12
      WLAN 11M/54M 181893 127279 0 5337 405 12:46:04


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7616 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 10.0 db 8.0 db
      Noise Margin 14.3 db 22.0 db


      I have just finished a conversation with tier 3 today and after using the test socket and sky testing the line they said that they were getting 7 to 7.5 kb/s. I then did a speedtest again while still using the test socket and within 3 attempts and 3 minutes the speed varied from 822 to 3244?
      I have no idea what is causing the problem and sky have confirmed that i have set up the wireless connection correctly. Thet also had me check the netsta prompt and i have only 4 connections running.
      It has now been passed to another department who will call me in 24/48 hrs after doing some more tests.

      Sorry for the long thread but really driving me mad as i'm paying for something i'm not receiving.. Incidently i asked about DLM and they told me that it is not being completed on my line or exchange.

      Thanks for reading..
      Regards Pete


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Not sure what else can be done!!!

      don't use speedtest.net, as you've found out it can vary a LOT...

      try the SkyUser one under the tools menu...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      virgin747's Avatar
      virgin747 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tuxford
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not sure what else can be done!!!

      Ok, have just used the speed test under tools and have used it three times. The 1st time i got 160kbp/s, the second 728Kbps and the third 480Kbps. Still way below what i should be expected to get!

      Regards Pete

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Not sure what else can be done!!!

      Have you checked the speed while on ethernet?

    6. #5
      virgin747's Avatar
      virgin747 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tuxford
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not sure what else can be done!!!

      Yes, the speed while on ethernet were very similar. In order for me to use my ethernet cable i have to plug an extension cable into the master socket and then move the router upstairs and plug it into the extensionthen directly to the pc as i have no telephone socket on the floor were my computer is. Is this still ok to do it that way? I know when i formatted my pc yesterday that my speeds were very similar 300/700 kbp/s.
      Regards

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Not sure what else can be done!!!

      Unfortunately a wireless connection will never be as good as a wired one. Similarly, using an extension will degrade your connection.

      If you are not running Vista, try downloading and using DrTCP in the link below. Take the Tweaktest first and this will advise what you need to change to improve your speed. When you have done this try changing the wireless channel on the router. If you have left it at the default it is probably set to Auto, this does not always work too well, a fixed channel often gives better results. Channel 13 is a good starting place. Also if your PC is a floor above the router try experimenting with different aerial angles. eg start with it horizontal and gradually work to upright. It may make a difference.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      virgin747's Avatar
      virgin747 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tuxford
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not sure what else can be done!!!

      Ok, have just again spoken with Customer Solutions tonight and they have said that something peculiar is going on with the line from the exchange to my home. They have also said that i should be getting around 6 to 6.5 meg and that i'm not being capped or that it's not DLM causing the problem. I have to wait 24/48hrs for a response.

      Regards

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Not sure what else can be done!!!

      I'm sorry, I have just noticed you are on Connect, which is BT's ADSLMax. I doubt if the Sky CS can do anything about it, they will have to go through BT.

      You can try this - Go to BT Speedtest enter your phone number then your ADSL username. This will do an official BT speed test and show your present profile. Your ADSL username is <the MAC number of your router, no colons, followed by> @skydsl You can also obtain this from the router by using one of the utilities available on the forum.

      You should be able to use this report when phone Sky, but it will depend on who takes your call as Sky TS do not seem to be trained for Connect customers. You may have a stuck profile. This tester is always busy, it could take several attempts to get on.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      virgin747's Avatar
      virgin747 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tuxford
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not sure what else can be done!!!

      They did say that they would have to speak with BT and find out whats going on with the line. I'm trying the BT Test that you told me about and will report back here. Thanks for the knowledgable infomation..Much appreciated.

      Regards Pete

    11. #10
      virgin747's Avatar
      virgin747 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tuxford
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not sure what else can be done!!!

      Ok,Guess the Sky Customer solutions team was right..Here are the results of the 1st Test

      Test1 comprises of Best Effort Test: -provides background information.
      IP profile for your line is - 350 kbps
      DSL connection rate: 448 kbps(UP-STREAM) 7616 kbps(DOWN-STREAM)
      Actual IP throughput achieved during the test was - 46 kbps

      This test was not conclusive and further testing is required

      Just emabrking on Test 2!

      Not sure what it all means..

      Regards

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION