Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    Please help with my connection speed!!!

    This is a discussion on Please help with my connection speed!!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; No, I only have a cordless phone. Just called the Mrs to get me one from her work....

    1. #11
      dmar491's Avatar
      dmar491 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01902
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help with my connection speed!!!

      No, I only have a cordless phone. Just called the Mrs to get me one from her work.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      dmar491's Avatar
      dmar491 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01902
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help with my connection speed!!!

      I have done the quiet line test and I cannot hear any noise on the line at all.

      Here are the latest stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 149 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 53.5 db 36.3 db
      Noise Margin 7.0 db 14.5 db


      Thanks

    4. #13
      youravinalarrrf's Avatar
      youravinalarrrf is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: MYBD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      327
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help with my connection speed!!!

      Just thinking out loud....have you made sure you have a filter in place on every phone point in the house and your Sky box phone connection?

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Please help with my connection speed!!!

      Is your sync speed changing itself or are you rebooting the router? If it is changing itself then DLM is working on your line and there is not much you can do until they finish with it. If you are rebooting the router, don't, let it run for a while and see what happens.

      I may be wrong but I think DLM may be operating on your line but the connection is so bad it is doing no good. The line may have a major fault or there could be a fault in the exchange, which I think is most likely. With your speed and attenuation and DLM operating I would think your last stats should have shown a NM in the region of 20-22 dbs. Obviously something is seriously wrong. It is hard to say what you should do, but I would consider phoning Sky, get through to CST, hope you get a good agent and explain what is happening. It might be possible to stop the DLM until such time as the fault on your line is fixed. It seems pointless to try dynamic management on a line which is hardly returning ISDN speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      dmar491's Avatar
      dmar491 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01902
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help with my connection speed!!!

      Thanks again for all your help.

      Is it worth phoning BT and asking them to take a look at the line?

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Please help with my connection speed!!!

      You would have to tell them that you had intermittent noise on the line. Don't even mention Broadband, they will not be interested. They are only contracted to supply a voice signal. Sky are the only ones who can ask them to check for broadband faults and as it costs them a packet they are not very keen to do that. They would rather send you 4 or 5 routers.

      If your line is really quiet, there is a good chance that it is the exchange equipment that is faulty. Once again, only Sky can do anything about it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      dmar491's Avatar
      dmar491 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01902
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help with my connection speed!!!

      Just been reading other posts regarding DML. Looks like I'm not the only one suffering, if that is what's causing the problem.

      It may get better following the tests.

    9. #18
      dmar491's Avatar
      dmar491 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01902
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Please help with my connection speed!!!

      Just to keep you updated. Sky called me yesterday to say they are sending a BT Broadband engineer out to look at the line. This morning he replaced one of the cables in the exchange and my speed went from 120 kbps to 5408kbps.


      I emailed my problem to this address "help@skycustomersupport.com" & there were fantastic. They called me back and got everything sorted in about 3 days, when I have been trying for about 6 weeks via the phone.

      Thanks again for everyones help.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION