Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 70

    Moving from virgin

    This is a discussion on Moving from virgin within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi again, of course you are quite right! My brain must of been out of gear when I posted that, ...

    1. #31
      kipper's Avatar
      kipper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving from virgin

      Hi again, of course you are quite right! My brain must of been out of gear when I posted that, yes, you will need to get a BT line fitted. Then it will depend on which call package you want as to how much you will pay to BT.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Dan223's Avatar
      Dan223 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Benfleet
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Moving from virgin

      We would want to get Sky Talk, Sky TV, and Sky Broadband

    4. #33
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving from virgin

      well your best bet is to phone bt first get your line set up then once your line is set up( bout 2 weeks later) then phone sky and place your order

    5. #34
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moving from virgin

      Yes you will have to get the BT line installed before you can do anything. Unless they have changed their policy, they will not even supply TV without a BT line.

      With regards the connection, if the supply line is in a proper duct, as many are, it will just be a case of pulling out the old cable and pulling in the new. They may not have to dig up the road.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #35
      Dan223's Avatar
      Dan223 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Benfleet
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Moving from virgin

      Hi, is there a way to get sky to beat the current deal we have with virgin, we phoned them up last night and he was only willing to offer the normal prices, other than saying the sky hd box will be reduced by 50 in July, which I already knew.

      Also do I have to have a 12month contract with bt before i can use sky talk?

    7. #36
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving from virgin

      Quote Originally Posted by Dan223 View Post
      Hi, is there a way to get sky to beat the current deal we have with virgin, we phoned them up last night and he was only willing to offer the normal prices, other than saying the sky hd box will be reduced by 50 in July, which I already knew.

      Also do I have to have a 12month contract with bt before i can use sky talk?
      answer 1: yes but you have to haggle... say that if you dont give a better deal ill stay with virgin media... they hate that!! as they want your custom !

      answer 2: no i dont think you do you can port over straght away

    8. #37
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moving from virgin

      I think BT require you to accept a 12 month contract before they install a line. Sky also do line rental, so they may be in a position to install a line for you. Then again they may only be interested in stealing existing lines from BT. Might be worth giving them a call and ask if they can install a line for you and at what cost.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #38
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving from virgin

      sky can get bt to provide you with a line?

      bit long winded if you want my opinion but i guess saves hassle of porting your number over because i take it you wanna keep you current virgin number?

    10. #39
      Dan223's Avatar
      Dan223 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Benfleet
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Moving from virgin

      I spoke to someone last night, he seemed to think i needed to sign up to bt for 12 months and then sky can take over the line. I have herd other people have got the reconnection fee credited to there account?

      We would want to port our current virgin number yes.

      The guy we spoke to didn't want to seem to match virgins deal or offer anything else, we said we will have to stay with virgin then and he said well thats all I can do.

    11. #40
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving from virgin

      Quote Originally Posted by Dan223 View Post
      I spoke to someone last night, he seemed to think i needed to sign up to bt for 12 months and then sky can take over the line. I have herd other people have got the reconnection fee credited to there account?

      We would want to port our current virgin number yes.

      The guy we spoke to didn't want to seem to match virgins deal or offer anything else, we said we will have to stay with virgin then and he said well thats all I can do.
      rubbish he can do better...just didnt want to lols

      well you need a special code from virgin in that case so you can port your number to bt.. then once tht is done then phone sky

      i spoke to my brother that works at bt he said you dont need to be their 12 months...

      we got sky broadband 9 months after getting a bt line.... but we did have bt broadband prior to sky

     

     
    Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION