Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 70

    Moving from virgin

    This is a discussion on Moving from virgin within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, when you say "Master Socket" what do you mean by that, we have a socket which i believe is ...

    1. #21
      Dan223's Avatar
      Dan223 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Benfleet
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Moving from virgin

      Hi, when you say "Master Socket" what do you mean by that, we have a socket which i believe is an old bt socket which was the main socket from when we were with bt (about 10 years ago) however this is in the middle of our hall way downstairs and i wouldn't able to put a router there.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Moving from virgin

      To get the best speed, not to mention a stable connection its always recommended you plug your router into the master socket. But seeing as Openreach will be paying you a visit i don't suppose theres any harm in telling the engineer to put the socket in a suitable place.

    4. #23
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moving from virgin

      The master socket is the first one on the line, from which all the extensions are fed. I don't know how difficult it will be but when you get your new supply, ask the fitter to put the Master socket where it will be convenient for your router. I would think all the old existing wiring will be replaced, so it should not be too difficult, depending on where the new connection is brought into your house.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #24
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Moving from virgin

      If you are having a new line fitted, have a good think and try to choose a good place for it, not too far from a mains socket. bear in mind that the max distance from cable entry that a master can be now is 3 metres, althrough no one ever measures this so if you want it further away, and the route is clear, I doubt that would be a problem

    6. #25
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moving from virgin

      Bacon butties and cups of tea will stretch it a bit

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #26
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Moving from virgin

      I used to love it if the subscriber had got it all sorted and shifted anything out of the way, and most importantly, had removed the family dog

    8. #27
      Dan223's Avatar
      Dan223 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Benfleet
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Moving from virgin

      At the current time, my BT line has the master socket in the hallway near the front door, would they take it up to the other side of the house on the second floor? Lol? Thats where the router is, virgin took the cable up there, so would bt be the same?

    9. #28
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moving from virgin

      I think it would depend on where the line was actually coming into the house. If it is overhead, it may be more convenient for them to do that, than router it back down to the ground floor.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #29
      Dan223's Avatar
      Dan223 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Benfleet
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Moving from virgin

      Its under ground, also when bt install a new line, would they not need to dig up the road etc? Someone had a problem with theres before and the road need to be dug up, however they didn't have the line for ages and the road stuff is performed by another company then a few weeks bt turned up, then a few weeks later the road people came back to finished the job, would this be the same case?

    11. #30
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Moving from virgin

      Quote Originally Posted by Dan223 View Post
      Its under ground, also when bt install a new line, would they not need to dig up the road etc? Someone had a problem with theres before and the road need to be dug up, however they didn't have the line for ages and the road stuff is performed by another company then a few weeks bt turned up, then a few weeks later the road people came back to finished the job, would this be the same case?
      Shouldn't think so. I think in that case the pairs needed replacing or something similar.

     

     
    Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION