Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 70

    Moving from virgin

    This is a discussion on Moving from virgin within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Get a new or extra home phone line from BT - or reconnect today That page should give you all ...

    1. #11
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Moving from virgin

      Get a new or extra home phone line from BT - or reconnect today

      That page should give you all the info you need on how to get a new BT line fitted.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Dan223's Avatar
      Dan223 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Benfleet
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Moving from virgin

      I gathered that, I was just wondering any information that would help during the process or setting up broadband to get the best speeds etc etc.

    4. #13
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Moving from virgin

      The best way to get the maximum speeds would be to fit a ADSL nation face plate (once BT line is fitted)

      ADSL Nation NTE-2005 Master face plate

      How much speed you will get varies on distance from the exchange.

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moving from virgin

      It would be advisable to keep your cable running until your Sky BB connection is up and running as it should. When the BT fitters a installing your line, ask them to fit an ADSL faceplate. It may cost a bit extra but will be worth it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving from virgin

      in order to get best speeds you need to live near your local exchange..

      where do you live?
      Basildon?
      Canvey Island ?
      Rayleigh ?
      South Benfleet ?
      Wickford ?

      phone 0800 800 150 to order a new bt line Opening hours Monday to Saturday 7.30am to 10pm, Sunday 9am to 6pm

      this is the phone number for bt customer services

      then once you have your bt line which takes around 2 weeks to get set up then phone sky broadband give them your new landline number and they will set up your broadband which takes 10 days to activate you should get the router in about 5 days after ordering and a confirmation letter
      Last edited by samperry209; 16-06-08 at 06:03 PM.

    7. #16
      Dan223's Avatar
      Dan223 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Benfleet
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Moving from virgin

      I'm not that near the exchange and samknows said i should get about 5.5mbps, 7mbps on adsl2. And will bt install a adsl faceplate?

    8. #17
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Moving from virgin

      The will fit a faceplate if you ask them, but most members have found better performance with the ADSL nation ones.

    9. #18
      Dan223's Avatar
      Dan223 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Benfleet
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Moving from virgin

      Whats the difference? Also i forgot to add im at the south benfleet exchange.

    10. #19
      malc-c's Avatar
      malc-c is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      Stevenage
      Posts
      148
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moving from virgin

      I've just migrated from Virgin to Sky myself. The first thing we did was order a line from BT. Even though there was an old dropwire to the house, it was 7 years or more since BT provided the service so we had to pay 125 for the installation charge. However The engineer ran a complete new cable from the pole to where I wanted the master socket. BT took care of the migration of the number from Virgin and we were switched over within an hour of the engineer leaving.

      We then contacted Sky and ordered the broadband package, which can take 10 - 14 days before activation. Once that was ordered I contacted Virgin and cancelled our contract. Under the terms of contract you are required to give 1 months notice, so this has meant that we have an overlap of a couple of weeks. Virgin will then refund you any overpayment between bills, unless you time it so the contarct ends on your billing date !

      So far we've been very happy with the performance of Sky (14MB as we're close to the exchange) and BT's phone package, and we're already thinking of things to spend the savings on made by switching from Virgin !
      Cheers


      Malcolm
      www.micro-heli.co.uk


    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moving from virgin

      There is very little difference in the performance of the modern BT ADSL faceplate and the Nation one. The basic BT one does not have internal connectors for ADSL extensions, the Nation one does. I believe BT ones are supplied by Clarity although there may also be others. The ADSLNation faceplate is the one favoured by most on the forum. It is well made does an excellent job and has a very good back up forum if you need help with it. If you definitely decide to go ahead, you could buy one of these and fit it yourself or ask the BT engineer to put it in when he is fitting your Master socket. It is very simple to fit. Explanations of why these are preferred are given in the sites linked to above.

      I have read that the BT type actually has an RJ45 socket, which also accepts the RJ11 from the router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION