Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    just migrated to max, not all that happy with my stats

    This is a discussion on just migrated to max, not all that happy with my stats within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey guys, ive been migrated to Max (supposedly adsl2 up to 16 meg) but what im getting is the following ...

    1. #1
      pioneermax's Avatar
      pioneermax is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      just migrated to max, not all that happy with my stats

      Hey guys, ive been migrated to Max (supposedly adsl2 up to 16 meg)

      but what im getting is the following

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 12.0 db 7.5 db
      Noise Margin 16.4 db 13.0 db
      I am incredibly close to the exchange and my speed test stats are as follows



      Is there anything that can be done ? Or is this just as good as its going to get ?

      Its telling me im connected at 8meg but im clearly just about getting 5-6



      edit : I'm also connected right into the socket (no faceplate), I have run TCP optimiser as well, and am connected via ethernet to the router


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      pioneermax's Avatar
      pioneermax is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just migrated to max, not all that happy with my stats



      another speed test using London instead of Maidenhead

      still quite under 8meg

    4. #3
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: just migrated to max, not all that happy with my stats

      you're capped on gdmt - call Sky (now if you can) and they'll put you on adsl2+ and you should ge the full 16Mbps...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #4
      pioneermax's Avatar
      pioneermax is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just migrated to max, not all that happy with my stats

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      you're capped on gdmt - call Sky (now if you can) and they'll put you on adsl2+ and you should ge the full 16Mbps...
      Ok so I ring Tech support I assume ? and then what do I ask them to do exatly ? i want to get the wording right so they dont try and ignore me/pass me over

      edit: Also do you know what number I should be ringing to do this ?
      Last edited by pioneermax; 15-06-08 at 11:44 PM.

    6. #5
      pioneermax's Avatar
      pioneermax is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just migrated to max, not all that happy with my stats

      just rang tech support and she told me the max my line can handle is 8 meg and this is all im going to get

      not sure what else I can do :/

    7. #6
      pioneermax's Avatar
      pioneermax is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just migrated to max, not all that happy with my stats

      she left me on hold for 15 minutes then just hung up on me


    8. #7
      TRIaXOR™'s Avatar
      TRIaXOR™ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSDRU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Glasgow
      Posts
      162
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just migrated to max, not all that happy with my stats

      Email them and tell them your line should be on ADSL2+ and that you have been put on the wrong profile.

      Sky.com - Sky Help Centre>Contact Us>Feedback - Broadband Kana
      Powered by Sky Broadband Unlimited

    9. #8
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: just migrated to max, not all that happy with my stats

      Well it would depend on where the agent got the information about only able to receive up to 8mb on the line, if the dsl checker is stating that then the agent couldn't do anything about it at that point. If the agent missed something then its just a case of ringing back,telling the agent you are capped on the line for no reason and want to be troubleshot for slow connection so you can speak to cst.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: just migrated to max, not all that happy with my stats

      another speed test using London instead of Maidenhead

      still quite under 8meg
      Due to line overheads you will get not much more than 85-90% of your sync speed. This will also apply when you are eventually moved to ADSL2+.

      Well it would depend on where the agent got the information about only able to receive up to 8mb on the line, if the dsl checker is stating that then the agent couldn't do anything about it at that point.
      It would seem they are still using the BT ADSLMax checker, which is ridiculous after Sky have been online for so long. They should try using the SkyUser one

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just migrated to max, not all that happy with my stats

      you have a noisy line tho..

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION