Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    get fed up with sky router

    This is a discussion on get fed up with sky router within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; and if the above fails it will require a call to T1 as there may be a fault....

    1. #11
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: get fed up with sky router

      and if the above fails it will require a call to T1 as there may be a fault.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: get fed up with sky router

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      and if the above fails it will require a call to T1 as there may be a fault.
      gonna call t1 then

    4. #13
      twocrazymonkies's Avatar
      twocrazymonkies is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whiteabbey
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: get fed up with sky router

      It's more than likely going to be a setup issue, do you have one of the "Sky TV - Do not unplug" splitters in a socket before/instead of a microfilter?

      The attenuation is much too high for 2048kbps and the SNR is too low... if there's no change in the test socket then don't let Tier 1 get rid of you by saying "change the microfilter", just stay in the test socket - simple.
      "Is your router definately plugged into the master telephone socket, sir?"
      "YES! SO WHY CAN'T I DO MY WIRELESS?"
      "How far away from the router are you?"
      "I'M IN SPAIN"
      True story.

    5. #14
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: get fed up with sky router

      Quote Originally Posted by twocrazymonkies View Post
      It's more than likely going to be a setup issue, do you have one of the "Sky TV - Do not unplug" splitters in a socket before/instead of a microfilter?

      The attenuation is much too high for 2048kbps and the SNR is too low... if there's no change in the test socket then don't let Tier 1 get rid of you by saying "change the microfilter", just stay in the test socket - simple.
      nope its filter then skybox thing! ill give them a bell bit later as i havent got the patients lols! ill keep you updated

    6. #15
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: get fed up with sky router

      Quote Originally Posted by sc_ View Post
      No its not if SKy wanted to know if you were using your own router they could.

    7. #16
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: get fed up with sky router

      Quote Originally Posted by samperry209 View Post
      is there any solutions to it yet
      BB cuts out when phone in use - BT baffled.

      Read all of

    8. #17
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: get fed up with sky router

      thanks monday

      yer i thought so because ive heard ppl being kicked off its really bad if u want my opinion

      ppl should have a choice

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: get fed up with sky router

      yer i thought so because ive heard ppl being kicked off
      I think there has only been one report of this on the forum and that turned out to be incorrect. There are hundreds, if not thousands, using their own router. No doubt Sky may clamp down someday, but I think they are more likely to start on excessive users before they bother with the small percentage using their own router. You should be aware though that using your own router is not only against the T &Cs but also that your connection may be no better.

      There is plenty of info in THIS part of the forum concerning using another router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION