Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Help Please!!!!!!!

    This is a discussion on Help Please!!!!!!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi! I am getting really narked with my broadband speed! I couldn't have the normal packages for BB so had ...

    1. #1
      sugarthief's Avatar
      sugarthief is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help Please!!!!!!!

      hi! I am getting really narked with my broadband speed!

      I couldn't have the normal packages for BB so had to pay the 17 a month and have sky connect... well i am not at all impressed!

      download speed: 232kbps
      upload speed: 233kbps

      thats only nearly a quarter of 1mb right?

      I am fed up now... i rang a while back and they said 'try this' and 'try that' and could not offer any help at the end so i stuck it out thinking it would get better.... its not!!!!

      Why should i pay much more than any of their packages (base,mid, max) but get nowhere near their speeds!!!!
      People have said to me that my speed is like dial up speed!!!
      what does anyone suggest i do please?

      I am thinking along the lines of asking sky to drop my monthly payment for BB dramatically (or even get it free!!! its not worth paying any money for it!!!) or asking them to let me out their contract so i can look elsewhere!!

      any advice greatly received!!!! many thanks! xxxxx


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Help Please!!!!!!!

      Hi

      Try the Master socket and see if the stats improve. If you can post them here, we can have a look and hopefully advise.

      Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky! How to test your Master Socket

      Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky! How to get your router statistics




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      sugarthief's Avatar
      sugarthief is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help Please!!!!!!!

      thank you!!! hubby will be home shortly... i think i will leave all that to him - looks a bit complicated for me!!!!!! lol x
      I will post back when he has done it all!!! thanks very much for your help so far! :-D xxxxx

    5. #4
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Help Please!!!!!!!

      It may have not been configured correctly at the exchange, its a common problem on Connect I've read other threads on it. You need to get on to sky about it.

    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Help Please!!!!!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by sugarthief View Post
      hi! I am getting really narked with my broadband speed!

      I couldn't have the normal packages for BB so had to pay the 17 a month and have sky connect... well i am not at all impressed!

      download speed: 232kbps
      upload speed: 233kbps

      thats only nearly a quarter of 1mb right?

      I am fed up now... i rang a while back and they said 'try this' and 'try that' and could not offer any help at the end so i stuck it out thinking it would get better.... its not!!!!

      Why should i pay much more than any of their packages (base,mid, max) but get nowhere near their speeds!!!!
      People have said to me that my speed is like dial up speed!!!
      what does anyone suggest i do please?

      I am thinking along the lines of asking sky to drop my monthly payment for BB dramatically (or even get it free!!! its not worth paying any money for it!!!) or asking them to let me out their contract so i can look elsewhere!!

      any advice greatly received!!!! many thanks! xxxxx
      you won't get it free, Sky have to pay BT for the connection hence why it costs more - but as said you've been set up on the wrong dsl product (BTs fault by the way). Sky need to ask BT to regrade the line so get on the phone to CST and hopefully someone'll check and see you're on Home/Office 250 and get it sent to BT...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Help Please!!!!!!!

      By the way, to get to CST you need to call Sky BB tech Support tier 1 and ask to be troubleshot for slow speed, once done you will go to CST.
      Make sure if possible you have plugged into the main socket or test socket before calling and tell them you have changed your filter. That will speed things along.

     

     

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION