Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    I keep getting told to phone BT then vice versa!!!!

    This is a discussion on I keep getting told to phone BT then vice versa!!!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys. Maybe someone here can shed some light on my situation. To cut a long story short....everytime my phone ...

    1. #1
      tobys550's Avatar
      tobys550 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I keep getting told to phone BT then vice versa!!!!

      Hi guys. Maybe someone here can shed some light on my situation. To cut a long story short....everytime my phone is used it cuts off my broadband which cant be used for the duration of the call. The noise margin goes haywire and when it does resync after the call it connects at some ridiculous speed i.e 168kbps or something. Only after a few reboots and maybe a day or so if the phone is'nt used the speed picks up. I have replaced everything. Tried new filters, cables, 3 different routers, master socket, isolating electrics in house, wireless,different telephones...to no avail. Ive exhausted all avenues I can think of.
      I can hear crackling and popping etc on the line when I use the phone.

      I have line rental, broadband and phone packages with sky. so far this afternoon I keep getting passed to and fro from sky to BT. Sky tell me to phone BT, BT tell me to phone Sky!!!!!!!
      I got so fed up I phoned consumer direct who told me to write a letter to there head office quoting a consumer law. I dont really want to go down this avenue just yet.


      Who should I be phoning, I need a definative answer. Cheers guys.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I keep getting told to phone BT then vice versa!!!!

      This may be a little simplistic and doubtless you have already been advised to do it -- but I would try putting new filters on both the phone and the router.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I keep getting told to phone BT then vice versa!!!!

      I have line rental, broadband and phone packages with sky.
      To me this means that Sky are responsible for the maintenance of your phone line. BT are not being paid by you, so are quite correct in referring you to Sky. It will be useless phoning the broadband section, you will have to phone Customer relations for the phone defects number if you have not been given one. I will be interested in seeing how you get on as I am considering going to Sky for phone rental.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      tobys550's Avatar
      tobys550 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I keep getting told to phone BT then vice versa!!!!

      Thanks fihart. But I have done what you instructed, once again I have just tried 3 different filters. Straight into the master socket. With two different phones. As soon as I prees the button to get a dial tone......Noise margin drops right out to 2147483647db and the router desyncs........

    6. #5
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: I keep getting told to phone BT then vice versa!!!!

      @ Isitme.
      BT may not be perfect, but why would you want to pass your line rental to Sky? If you get a line fault you will just have another set of hoops to go through, and then have to wait for Sky to report the defect to BT. Just like BB is now, and you know what a pain that can be

    7. #6
      tobys550's Avatar
      tobys550 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I keep getting told to phone BT then vice versa!!!!

      @brian69

      im beginning to wish I never went with sky line rental.....

    8. #7
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: I keep getting told to phone BT then vice versa!!!!

      I have this image of Sky, BT and Ofcom being the 3 stooges and suddenly you see why the telecoms market is the way that it is.....knuck, knuck, knuck.

      Although the 3 stooges probably wouldn't make such a mess of it.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: I keep getting told to phone BT then vice versa!!!!

      but why would you want to pass your line rental to Sky?
      With Caller Display, it is a saving of about 70 a year. I don't have inflation proof pensions so I have to look to make all the savings I can. Admittedly most of the saving is in CD, but the better half wants it, so who am I to question her.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: I keep getting told to phone BT then vice versa!!!!

      I think BT still do this, if you go for BT Privacy at Home, you get CD for free. You also get free Telephone Preference Service.

    11. #10
      Naranja's Avatar
      Naranja is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: I keep getting told to phone BT then vice versa!!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by tobys550 View Post
      As soon as I prees the button to get a dial tone......Noise margin drops right out to 2147483647db and the router desyncs........
      I just had the same problem! In the end I disconnected the ring wire from all the sockets around the house. Noise margin still drops but not as far as before, goes down to 2db for a couple of seconds then back up to 9.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION