Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Cannot connect via Ethernet, Wireless is fine

    This is a discussion on Cannot connect via Ethernet, Wireless is fine within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, recently got Sky Broadband (Mid package) with the Sagem router. I can access the net fine using Wireless, ...

    1. #1
      TxH's Avatar
      TxH
      TxH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Walworth, London
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cannot connect via Ethernet, Wireless is fine

      Hi all, recently got Sky Broadband (Mid package) with the Sagem router. I can access the net fine using Wireless, but when I plug the Ethernet cable into my PC, it just stays on Aquiring Network Address. I've tried manually assigning an IP address, but still no joy.

      Any suggestions?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Cannot connect via Ethernet, Wireless is fine

      Try checking that your NIC drivers are up to date.
      Also does the port number light on the router light up green when you plug in the ethernet cable ?


    4. #3
      TxH's Avatar
      TxH
      TxH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Walworth, London
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cannot connect via Ethernet, Wireless is fine

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      Try checking that your NIC drivers are up to date.
      Also does the port number light on the router light up green when you plug in the ethernet cable ?
      The port light comes on when I plug the cable in, and I've tried using a second cable so I know it's not a fault there. I'm pretty sure it's my laptop being stupid... What are the NIC drivers and how would I update them?

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Cannot connect via Ethernet, Wireless is fine

      the drivers that run your ethernet port on the PC...are there any updates for them?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      TxH's Avatar
      TxH
      TxH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Walworth, London
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cannot connect via Ethernet, Wireless is fine

      I've updated the drivers for my ethernet adaptor using the Windows Update Driver option. Still no joy. Will try the ethernet with a different PC and see how that goes

    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Cannot connect via Ethernet, Wireless is fine

      You may also want to try the manufacturers website as the windows one is not necesseraly the latest, windows ones tend to be generic to cover a number of adapters. Definetely worth a try with a different pc tho as well - this would certainly pinpoint whether the problem is with your laptop or the router.


    8. #7
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Cannot connect via Ethernet, Wireless is fine

      What OS are you using? Have you set TCP/IP to automatic for DHCP?

    9. #8
      TxH's Avatar
      TxH
      TxH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Walworth, London
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jun 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Cannot connect via Ethernet, Wireless is fine

      Quote Originally Posted by dms05 View Post
      What OS are you using? Have you set TCP/IP to automatic for DHCP?
      Using Windows xP Home SP2. Tried TCP/IP as both static and dynamic, with no joy. It will initially say Connected in Network Connections, and then go back to Aquiring Network Address.

    10. #9
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Cannot connect via Ethernet, Wireless is fine

      Have you looked in BIOS to see if the Ethernet card is enabled? Do you have 'Wake up on Network' set?

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Cannot connect via Ethernet, Wireless is fine

      Go to the manufacturers site and download the latest drivers for your machine as advised in 6 above. Then open the Device Manager, expand the Network adapters section, right click the ethernet adapter and select Uninstall, click OK. If your wireless is working OK, be careful you don't uninstall it by mistake. Right click My Computer at the top of the pane and select 'Scan for Hardware Changes' If Windows wants to install the adapter, click Cancel and install the one you downloaded. How you do this will depend on how the driver is packed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION